Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This bread is truly strange. The really odd thing is it had such a strong beer taste! I used a Boston lager beer. I also had to double the rise time on the second rise. My yeast was new, but this bread did not get a spring in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
ahhh no big deal, I dont think its worth the extra calories from the beer. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I've now made this bread several times and it has turned out very well. I use Guinness Draft or Stout as the bear for a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The first rise (in the bowl) was OK, but once in the pans it took 1.5 hrs to rise to a barely acceptable loaf size. Then they "shrank" during baking and came out small & dense (like a quick bread. Flavor was good, but won't make again because of the rising trouble (even after so much yeast!)I am at high altitude, but haven't had this problem with other breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious crusty rye bread. This dough was not easy to work with, and I was concerned it was going to come out of the oven as hard as a hockey puck. But it baked up beautifully, and although not what I'd consider super soft in texture, I certainly wouldn't call it dense either, and it's suitable for sandwiches. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a dark oatmeal stout, mixing a tablespoon or so of molasses along with the remaining sponge ingredients to sit overnight. To raise, I heated my oven to 200' then turned it off and put the bread in the oven loosely covered with parchment to double. I divided the dough into two bread pans to bake. Before placing in the oven I slashed the top of the loaves with a very sharp knife, to allow the bread to rise better. The resulting bread is chewy, beery, and yeasty-- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'm sure the flavor is greatly affected by the beer one chooses to use. I used a home brewed nut brown ale, and the bread was delicious. We sliced it while still warm to use for some pastrami sandwiches, and it was dense enough to hold up to the slicing, but not ovely heavy. I had not read through the recipe beforehand and didn't see that it required an overnight rest. So be forewarned that this is a two-day project. It's well worth the extra time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
First batch was a little too salty for our taste. I changed it to 1 t. salt instead of 1 T. salt and it was perfect. Definitely will be adding this recipe to my GO TO list - very easy to make, moist, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Such a tasty bread! I added a variety of seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, millet, etc.) rather than caraway. In reading through others' experiences, I got some great ideas. This is a "keeper" recipe for me. I am a non-beer drinker and was clueless as to what to use - I got the one and only beer item sold singly - Magnum 32. The bread turned out just fine - but I am going to use some of the other suggestions for a perhaps less strong beer taste. Although - I actually found it quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
We used Left Hand's Milk Stout (but no caraway), and the flavor enhances this bread amazingly. Absolutely delicious! Thank you, Kitty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States