Ryan's Reverse Popper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Yum! My kids made this as the appetizer for our Mother's Day dinner. We enjoy poppers made on the grill so the boys chose to grill the peppers for a few minutes to give them that cooked and roasted flavor. Once cooled they removed the skins and seeds and chopped 'em up. We followed the recipe exactly other than that step. Everyone's first remark was "Wow" followed by "This is great (delicious, awesome, fantastic,) and some other comments that were garbled by mouths being full. :) One of the other boys commented that he was glad we planted Jalapenos in the garden because we're gonna need 'em to make more of this dip. Our peppers were very hot - possibly more so because of the grilling- but it was perfect for our taste. Just wonderful. Thanks, Cat, for sharing your recipe! **Update** It was requested I make this for an afternoon by the pool. I had a container (8 oz) of sour cream that needed using up so I added it to the ingredients. The result was a creamier dip and easier to scoop without breaking the chips. I plan on making part of the ingredients as it was enjoyed so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group a few weeks ago. I used regular cream cheese. WOW! Very, very good. My son practically inhaled it. I plan to take this to the next pot luck I go to. Thanks for an excellent dip recipe Cat Hill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This one was "Gone in 60 Seconds"... I did make a few changes because I didn't have any bacon. Fried up some hot Louisiana sausage and added 1/2 Smoked Gouda as I halved the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent, excellent dip. I used fresh breadcrumbs from a stale baguette I had on hand (they were pretty dry) but stuck to the recipe otherwise (a major feat for me, lol!). Hands down, the best popper dip I've tried. Thanks, Cat Hill...this one's going into the keeper pile, and I can't wait to make it with my fresh peppers! Really, any pepper would be good, and I'll try a mixture this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Hill
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I'm the submitter of this recipe and AR fixed the first oops with the directions but I have noticed some having difficulty with the cook & prep time, the original recipe has differing times from what AR posted in the submitted recipe. Not creamy enough or all you taste is bacon & cream cheese, know what you mean. This is best hot for sure. And I had no idea cream cheese and jalapenos varied so widely in flavor, texture or heat so that could certainly affect the outcome of this recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Love the concept of this--so much easier than individual poppers! I didn't know what to do with the onion/garlic--I just mixed in with the panko and bacon. I have another recipe for poppers from this site that I may like a little more--dry ranch dressing is mixed in--but this technique is great, and it makes a really tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good. It wasn't very jalapeno-y for us but that probably has a lot to do with the jalapenos you use. Mine were probably not very hot to start with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this last night, took Shearone's idea and put all in my KA, till combined, I used cream cheese, as i could not find Neufchatel cheese. The smell as it was baking was wonderful. Everyone loved it, it was gone in no time. Alas, I could not partake in this wonderful smelling dip, but the minute I can find lactose free cream cheese and cheddar cheese, I will make it just for me. Cat Hill thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I used cream cheese, turkey bacon and habanero cheese blend as substitutes and it was fabulous! Got many compliments at the Derby party we attended! Will definitely make again and maybe even double for larger groups (only filled an 8" square baking dish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
YUMMYLICIOUS - This is really, really good! This was the Cinco de Mayo recipe selection for the AR Recipe Group. I veered from the directions in that I threw everything into my KA food processor and pulsed until completely combined, then placed in my baking dish and baked. I sprinkled some sweet red and yellow peppers on top after I removed from oven just for appearance. Thank you Cat Hill for sharing your 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States