Ryan's Reverse Popper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Yum! My kids made this as the appetizer for our Mother's Day dinner. We enjoy poppers made on the grill so the boys chose to grill the peppers for a few minutes to give them that cooked and roasted flavor. Once cooled they removed the skins and seeds and chopped 'em up. We followed the recipe exactly other than that step. Everyone's first remark was "Wow" followed by "This is great (delicious, awesome, fantastic,) and some other comments that were garbled by mouths being full. :) One of the other boys commented that he was glad we planted Jalapenos in the garden because we're gonna need 'em to make more of this dip. Our peppers were very hot - possibly more so because of the grilling- but it was perfect for our taste. Just wonderful. Thanks, Cat, for sharing your recipe! **Update** It was requested I make this for an afternoon by the pool. I had a container (8 oz) of sour cream that needed using up so I added it to the ingredients. The result was a creamier dip and easier to scoop without breaking the chips. I plan on making part of the ingredients as it was enjoyed so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I made two small changes--I used a good amount of homemade roasted sweet onion and one four ounce can of diced mild green chilies instead of the fresh diced jalapeno peppers. (My apologies to the recipe submitter, I honestly don't think she would mind). My family INHALED this dip. In fifteen minutes. Seriously. They ate the whole serving bowl full. Everyone adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I have to say is YUM! I made this for #1 Son's Birthday (keeping in the theme of favorite dishes of Sons) and it was completely wiped out in a very short time. I put in only 5 Jalapenos because the ones I purchased were big. However, next time I will put in 7 or 8 and work my way up to 10. It was so tasty and not hot at all. Just good! The bacon and onions and garlic only add to this super delicious dip. I already know I'll be making this again and again. Thank you Cathill for creating such a wonderful and EASY dish that will be on the DECKER menu from now on for our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Cat Hill
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I'm the submitter of this recipe and AR fixed the first oops with the directions but I have noticed some having difficulty with the cook & prep time, the original recipe has differing times from what AR posted in the submitted recipe. Not creamy enough or all you taste is bacon & cream cheese, know what you mean. This is best hot for sure. And I had no idea cream cheese and jalapenos varied so widely in flavor, texture or heat so that could certainly affect the outcome of this recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I think I'm the only person I know who has never had jalapeño poppers. They never appealed to me as I was intimidated by putting a hot pepper in my mouth. (weird, I know). This dip is a fantastic alternative to that. I used eight jalapenos as my were a medium size. It was just the right amount of spiciness. I was going to increase the bacon because my family loves bacon. I didn't and I'm glad I stuck to the recipe because it was just the right amount. This will be great for football season. Thanks Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 27, April 2013 ~ I am late in making the group selection, but soooo glad I finally got it made. Cat-Hill, your recipe is absolutely wonderful and so much easier to make than stuffed poppers. I made a half batch to take in to school. Five of us wasted no time polishing off the dip and all four of them wanted the recipe. I let the mini-chopper take care of jalapeños for me. It did a great job and I didn’t have to worry about the oils from the peppers. I baked for 30 minutes in the toaster oven and then reheated it in the microwave when we enjoyed it with our lunch. I added fresh diced tomatoes on top before serving with tortilla chips. Thanks for sharing a winner, Cat-Hill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is so flavorful! It is rich and creamy and slightly spicy. Absolutely decadent, but actually rather figure friendly. Thanks, Cat, this was worth waiting for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Cat, this is wonderful! DH said this is his new football dip! Really glad the jalepenos are doing well in the garden. This will be made often, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this for a BBQ last night and people simply couldn't get enough of it. I followed the recipe exactly (although using full fat cheddar cheese) - and it was perfect - but will make it without the bread crumbs next time because I have a number of gluten-free friends (and don't think I'll sacrifice any flavor by doing so). I brought tortilla chips to dip, but one party-goer even slathered it on his hot dog as a topping. He said it was delicious that way. Just a couple cooking notes: It took me a bit longer to bake it (maybe closer to 30 minutes) and using my stand mixer was a life-saver. It's really, really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
DELICIOUS! This is great with crackers or nachos and was a huge hit with everyone. I eyeballed the peppers, then added more:) I chopped the bacon, fried it crisp, drained and used. I divided the dish, made 1/2 as is and added some chopped chipotle peppers with adobo(?) sauce, I had some roasted jalapeno peppers, so I added them in as well. Both dishes were cleaned in no time. Some people used it as a veggie dip for carrots, broccoli and cauliflower. KEEPER, thanks Cat. Quicker and less fuss than stuffing and roasting the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States