Ryan's Reverse Popper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 27, April 2013 ~ I am late in making the group selection, but soooo glad I finally got it made. Cat-Hill, your recipe is absolutely wonderful and so much easier to make than stuffed poppers. I made a half batch to take in to school. Five of us wasted no time polishing off the dip and all four of them wanted the recipe. I let the mini-chopper take care of jalapeños for me. It did a great job and I didn’t have to worry about the oils from the peppers. I baked for 30 minutes in the toaster oven and then reheated it in the microwave when we enjoyed it with our lunch. I added fresh diced tomatoes on top before serving with tortilla chips. Thanks for sharing a winner, Cat-Hill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made this for a BBQ last night and people simply couldn't get enough of it. I followed the recipe exactly (although using full fat cheddar cheese) - and it was perfect - but will make it without the bread crumbs next time because I have a number of gluten-free friends (and don't think I'll sacrifice any flavor by doing so). I brought tortilla chips to dip, but one party-goer even slathered it on his hot dog as a topping. He said it was delicious that way. Just a couple cooking notes: It took me a bit longer to bake it (maybe closer to 30 minutes) and using my stand mixer was a life-saver. It's really, really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This made a great dip for our mother's day gathering. I added more onion and garlic and used fresh bread crumbs. I was afraid it might be too spicy so I scaled back the jalepenos to six. To me the spice level was perfect but all the teens who devoured this said it could have been hotter. Next time I won't hold back! Thanks for sharing your recipe Cat Hill :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Yum! My kids made this as the appetizer for our Mother's Day dinner. We enjoy poppers made on the grill so the boys chose to grill the peppers for a few minutes to give them that cooked and roasted flavor. Once cooled they removed the skins and seeds and chopped 'em up. We followed the recipe exactly other than that step. Everyone's first remark was "Wow" followed by "This is great (delicious, awesome, fantastic,) and some other comments that were garbled by mouths being full. :) One of the other boys commented that he was glad we planted Jalapenos in the garden because we're gonna need 'em to make more of this dip. Our peppers were very hot - possibly more so because of the grilling- but it was perfect for our taste. Just wonderful. Thanks, Cat, for sharing your recipe! **Update** It was requested I make this for an afternoon by the pool. I had a container (8 oz) of sour cream that needed using up so I added it to the ingredients. The result was a creamier dip and easier to scoop without breaking the chips. I plan on making part of the ingredients as it was enjoyed so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group a few weeks ago. I used regular cream cheese. WOW! Very, very good. My son practically inhaled it. I plan to take this to the next pot luck I go to. Thanks for an excellent dip recipe Cat Hill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This one was "Gone in 60 Seconds"... I did make a few changes because I didn't have any bacon. Fried up some hot Louisiana sausage and added 1/2 Smoked Gouda as I halved the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bailey Belanger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent, excellent dip. I used fresh breadcrumbs from a stale baguette I had on hand (they were pretty dry) but stuck to the recipe otherwise (a major feat for me, lol!). Hands down, the best popper dip I've tried. Thanks, Cat Hill...this one's going into the keeper pile, and I can't wait to make it with my fresh peppers! Really, any pepper would be good, and I'll try a mixture this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Hill
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I'm the submitter of this recipe and AR fixed the first oops with the directions but I have noticed some having difficulty with the cook & prep time, the original recipe has differing times from what AR posted in the submitted recipe. Not creamy enough or all you taste is bacon & cream cheese, know what you mean. This is best hot for sure. And I had no idea cream cheese and jalapenos varied so widely in flavor, texture or heat so that could certainly affect the outcome of this recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Love the concept of this--so much easier than individual poppers! I didn't know what to do with the onion/garlic--I just mixed in with the panko and bacon. I have another recipe for poppers from this site that I may like a little more--dry ranch dressing is mixed in--but this technique is great, and it makes a really tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was very good. It wasn't very jalapeno-y for us but that probably has a lot to do with the jalapenos you use. Mine were probably not very hot to start with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States