Ryan's Reverse Popper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this dip for get together this evening. Was great alternative to poppers. I'm not crazy about poppers because of all the breading, so this worked well. I gave 4 stars because prep did take a bit more time. I took a couple short cuts and reduced clean up by just mixing manually with spoon and I used a small can of diced jalapenos. I also did add about 1/2 cup sour cream for a creamery dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this recipe last night, only change was I made half instead of the full recipe. We ate it out of the oven on tortilla chips. I didn't modify anything in the recipe, but I did put ranch dressing on top of it when I put it on the tortilla chips because I like to dip my jalapeno poppers in a ranch dressing. Very good with the ranch. My husband used it as a baked potato topper today and it was awesome! Very versatile dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Can i make this without a stand mixer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This dip is unbelievable! Having said that - the 'prep time' is way off - this entire recipe from start to finish took me almost 2 hours. Between chopping the ingredients, cooking the bacon, and mixing everything together, I had already put an hour of prep time in. I didn't change any ingredients, except I used panko instead of bread crumbs for more of a crunch. I sauteed the onion & garlic in a tiny bit of leftover bacon grease (I fried the bacon instead of baking it). I used 9 jalapenos, and left the seeds in 4 of them - if you like it HOT, go with that ratio! Thanks for the great recipe - I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was pretty good. I cut the peppers in half, as DBF doesn't have a high spice tolerance, but he said it could use more. Mods: 5 peppers, no bacon (DBF is vegetarian), added 1/4 cup little sour cream, less cheddar (ran out), no onion, threw two cloves garlic in the food processor along with the peppers and sour cream (didn't fry anything). (Baked in largest red-topped glass dish.) Next time, add at least three more peppers and something to chew on. Maybe lightly fried mushrooms? Large chunks of bell peppers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I think I'm the only person I know who has never had jalapeño poppers. They never appealed to me as I was intimidated by putting a hot pepper in my mouth. (weird, I know). This dip is a fantastic alternative to that. I used eight jalapenos as my were a medium size. It was just the right amount of spiciness. I was going to increase the bacon because my family loves bacon. I didn't and I'm glad I stuck to the recipe because it was just the right amount. This will be great for football season. Thanks Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very tasty, stuck to the recipe as stated except I used reg. cream cheese. It did take just a little longer in the oven to heat throughout. The heat was very nice, just right. I might add a little sour cream as another stated they did just to make a little creamer and not so thick, but really it isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I have to say is YUM! I made this for #1 Son's Birthday (keeping in the theme of favorite dishes of Sons) and it was completely wiped out in a very short time. I put in only 5 Jalapenos because the ones I purchased were big. However, next time I will put in 7 or 8 and work my way up to 10. It was so tasty and not hot at all. Just good! The bacon and onions and garlic only add to this super delicious dip. I already know I'll be making this again and again. Thank you Cathill for creating such a wonderful and EASY dish that will be on the DECKER menu from now on for our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This was good. But I prefer the actual stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
DELICIOUS! This is great with crackers or nachos and was a huge hit with everyone. I eyeballed the peppers, then added more:) I chopped the bacon, fried it crisp, drained and used. I divided the dish, made 1/2 as is and added some chopped chipotle peppers with adobo(?) sauce, I had some roasted jalapeno peppers, so I added them in as well. Both dishes were cleaned in no time. Some people used it as a veggie dip for carrots, broccoli and cauliflower. KEEPER, thanks Cat. Quicker and less fuss than stuffing and roasting the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States