Ryan's Favorite Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Lima beans are too chalky for this. Substitute Northern beans or black beans for color and flavor variety. The taste is great as is, but there is plenty of room for adjustment of flavors if you wish. Thank you for sharing! Bar-B-Que favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I have made this quite a few times, but given how many accolades I received on Mother's Day for this recipe, I thought I should finally review it. Made minor tweaks: used cannelloni beans instead of lima beans and was lazy and just used packaged bacon pieces instead of frying/crumbling bacon. Cooked it on low in my crock for about 5-6 hours. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Good, I think I'll add just a pinch of cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I cooked the ground beef, onions, and bacon, put it in the fridge overnight, and then added the rest of the ingredients to my crockpot. I turned it on High for 4 hours, and they were delicious! My husband and I enjoyed the leftovers two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly as written and the dish was a huge hit for my son's birthday party. Thank you for sharing! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWifeMomNurseAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this for a potluck at work last year. I'm not a big fan of lima beans so I substituted them for an extra can of kidney beans. Otherwise, I made the recipe to a "T". One of the guys I work with raved about it so much that he's paid me to get all the ingredients and make it again for our halloween potluck this week. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent! I have a large family with several teen boys and everyone loves this recipe. I like it because I can prep it in the morning or the night before and let it cook while I'm at work. I add a little garlic and fix corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I have made this several times now, and it is my favorite! The only thing I change is I added a little more bacon, cause I LIKE it, and I add a couple different beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic. To simplify, I cut the original recipe in half, left out the ground beef (because we were making burgers already) and lima beans, and scaled back the other ingredients just a little. I used 2 slices bacon, 1 can pork/beans with some liquid, 1 can kidney beans, 1/2 c BBQ sauce, 2 T br. sugar, 1 T cider, 1/2 t liquid smoke, and 1/4 t pepper. I omitted the salt, and accidentally forgot the onion (will remember next time). Cooked in a casserole pan with lid at 375 for 1:15. They were the best baked beans I've ever tasted. I'm not a big baked bean eater anyway, but my fiance who loves them raved. He said, "SAVE THIS RECIPE!" So I am. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Sorry to say it, but these weren't the best beans I've eaten. Made them on Sunday for a small party and no one even commented on them. Aunt Ro's Beans on this website were waaaay better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States