Ryan's Favorite Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this over the stovetop. Due to not having all the ingredients, I didn't put in the beef. Also, the only beans I had on hand were kidney and red beans so I used those. Valerie, you are genius adding BBQ, liquid smoke, brown sugar, and cider vinegar. I could not stop picking and eating these beans all the way to the dinner table! This recipe tops a bland can of baked beans or pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe, followed recipe as posted. Only omitted the liquid smoke as I did not have any on hand. Everyone could not get over how great they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was actually really good and I don't even like beans. I made this originally for my husband and he really liked it so I just had to try it and was pleasantly surprised at the fact that I liked it! It was a lot though. I put half in a freezer bag to use with another meal later. Thanks for the easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody741

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I was looking for something with a little ZING in it and when I read-VINEGAR I knew this would be the one! I did not bother with the LIMA BEANS??? BUT THE BACON AND PORK HAMBURGER made this a meal in itself! I added extra vinegar and IMMEDIATELY people came out the walls! everyone LOVED THIS POT OF BEANS!!! I bring it to church potlucks and sit back and let the compliments roll in!!!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellacina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These were pretty good but didn't quite match up to our favorite baked bean dish I usually make. Other than making without the hamburger and mixing up the bean combo I made these as is. If you don't use a good bbq sauce don't even bother to make these. Thanks for something different to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Delicious and easy one dish meal. I used ground pork in place of the beef and pinto beans in place of limas. Very sweet, so if you use a sweet bbq sauce, you may want to cut back on the brown sugar. I think i will omit it altogether next time. This recipe makes a ton! Could easily be halved but i would use the full pound of meat and at least the six slices of bacon. Thank you for a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I enjoyed this very much, but not everyone I served liked it. It's very, very sweet and the cider vinegar makes it quite tangy. My 5 year old wouldn't eat it. If I make it again I would cut down on the vinegar and increase the liquid smoke. I did use the lima beans and I have to say they were tasty, and I don't normally like them. They go nicely in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great quick recipe. Everybody enjoyed them at the pot-luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Big Business

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonaconing, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I took a chance and made this for the first time for a pot luck. By the end of the night the beans were all eaten.People were saying how good they were and some asked for the recipe. It was a big hit.I'm going to make it for the next pot luck. It is easy to make.I put in another 1/2 c onions and next time will put more in.The same with the bacon, I took the advice of your readers and put in more bacon but next time I will make a whole pound and maybe add more beef.I found it was easier to cook the bacon after I cut it in half, then cooked it, since it wasn't a frying pan.I cooked it crispy. It was also easier to cook it after the pan was really hot and more bacon grease was in it after some bacon already cooked.I added a little more br. sugar, not a lot. The rest of the recipe I followed as it was written.It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent for a potluck dinner. I followed recipe exactly and it was great. I was concerned about the liquid smoke, but was not overpowering. Highly recommend. Will be making for Easter Gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States