Ruth's Roquefort Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this recipe was a little bland as written. I thought all of the flavors needed to be stronger. I could not taste the cayenne or hot sauce at all, so I increased to at least 1/4 tsp of cayenne and 10-15 drops of Cholula hot sauce. Next time, I would probably add 1-2 more TBS of celery and onion, too, for more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Our family loves cheeseballs and this is one of the best we've tried. I used reduced fat blue cheese and reduced fat cream cheese and you can't even tell. I was out of tabasco so I used about 8 drops of chili sauce and left out the cayenne pepper. This is great with crackers but goes well with celery and other veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've made this twice in the last two weeks to rave reviews. I used 4 ounces of blue cheese (the Danish Rosenberg Mellow Blue kind)and I used red onion instead of cooking onion and added a few more dashes of Frank's Red Hot Sauce and a generous pinch of cayenne. I have used both chopped pecans and walnuts successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
very good! I prepared it the day before and served it with warm homemade bread: I know, something crunchy it should have been, but it was very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I did not have any tabasco or celery so that was not added but I did add in some parsely and garlic and coated with dry roasted almond chunks. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was yummy! I added a little extra blue cheese and hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I was surprised with a solid 5 stars that this wasn't better tasting. I could barely taste the blue cheese (and I used all 4 oz.) and I couldn't taste the hot sauce/cayenne at all (and I sprinkled generously). I think this recipe has potential but next time would add even more blue cheese and more hot sauce. Hmmm...I wonder if a touch of chunky blue cheese salad dressing would do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Using ground smoked almonds instead of pecans is excellent as well...great crunch and smoky flavor matches well with the strong roquefort flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome! made last night and doubled the recipe. Only thing i did diffrent was add some galic salt.I also par melted the cheese in the micro so i could blend it easier.If you melt in micro, you will need to refrigerate and form it several times before it will hold its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie bond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Fabulous! My guests LOVED it, and so did I. Definitely a keeper. I will be making this again! Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States