Ruth's Roquefort Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this recipe was a little bland as written. I thought all of the flavors needed to be stronger. I could not taste the cayenne or hot sauce at all, so I increased to at least 1/4 tsp of cayenne and 10-15 drops of Cholula hot sauce. Next time, I would probably add 1-2 more TBS of celery and onion, too, for more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Our family loves cheeseballs and this is one of the best we've tried. I used reduced fat blue cheese and reduced fat cream cheese and you can't even tell. I was out of tabasco so I used about 8 drops of chili sauce and left out the cayenne pepper. This is great with crackers but goes well with celery and other veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've made this twice in the last two weeks to rave reviews. I used 4 ounces of blue cheese (the Danish Rosenberg Mellow Blue kind)and I used red onion instead of cooking onion and added a few more dashes of Frank's Red Hot Sauce and a generous pinch of cayenne. I have used both chopped pecans and walnuts successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
very good! I prepared it the day before and served it with warm homemade bread: I know, something crunchy it should have been, but it was very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I did not have any tabasco or celery so that was not added but I did add in some parsely and garlic and coated with dry roasted almond chunks. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was yummy! I added a little extra blue cheese and hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I was surprised with a solid 5 stars that this wasn't better tasting. I could barely taste the blue cheese (and I used all 4 oz.) and I couldn't taste the hot sauce/cayenne at all (and I sprinkled generously). I think this recipe has potential but next time would add even more blue cheese and more hot sauce. Hmmm...I wonder if a touch of chunky blue cheese salad dressing would do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Using ground smoked almonds instead of pecans is excellent as well...great crunch and smoky flavor matches well with the strong roquefort flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe is awesome! made last night and doubled the recipe. Only thing i did diffrent was add some galic salt.I also par melted the cheese in the micro so i could blend it easier.If you melt in micro, you will need to refrigerate and form it several times before it will hold its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie bond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Fabulous! My guests LOVED it, and so did I. Definitely a keeper. I will be making this again! Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States