Ruth's Roquefort Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used candied pecans on the outside - soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4krisp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
After reading some of the other reviews, I planned ahead for adjustments. However, I did make this cheese ball as written so I could judge for myself. I agree it is a bit bland as written so my ingredients measured as follows: 8 oz cream cheese, 4 1/2 oz bleu cheese crumbles,2 heaping Tablespoons EACH of celery & sweet Valencia onion finely chopped, 5 drops Tabasco pepper sauce, 1/4 teaspoon ground red cayenne pepper, 1/4 teaspoon each of onion powder & garlic powder. Blended all ingredients till smooth and creamy, then placed in the refrigerator to chill for 6 hrs. Shaped it into a ball and covered again! Covered the cheese ball with diced pecans and ate with crackers. THIS RECIPE IS EXCELLENT & the added Bleu cheese really is a huge hit for the Bleu cheese lovers! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Anyone making this for the first time really should make as written & then decide for themselves to tweak or not to tweak to their palate. :) Definitely will make again ... soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Why is this called a Roquefort Cheese Ball when you use Blue Cheese 1 star for the recipe as is 5 stars if you use Roquefort( NO celery grated carrots instead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
There are few things I like better than a good cheese ball. This one did not disappoint- plus it was a great change from the dried beef-green onion one I usually make. Using the advice of previous reviews I added more onions and celery. I doubled the cayenne pepper, added a little salt and added a dash of celery salt. I used 4 ounces of bleu cheese because I really like the flavor. Do not skip the pecans. I got a lot of compliments on this-- even from a person who doesn't like bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! Great blue cheese flavor. I especially loved it served on the ritz pretzel/cheese flip crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
this is a wonderful and simple recipe. I needed to bring a cheese plate to a Halloween party, so I prepared the cheese exactly as mentioned except I added 2 drops of blue food coloring (for effect)then I rolled the chilled cheese log in Black sesame seeds instead of nuts and served it with a darker colored cracker. It was great looking and perfect for the occasion. It was a rave and gone almost within the first 15 minutes of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
pretty good. I added a bit more onion and feta cheese. Got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was the second cheese ball I ever made and it was really good. I formed it into the shape of a baseball (for my son's birthday party) and used some pepperoni for the laces. I was a real "home run" with my guests. Man that was cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pohl Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe, but a little bland. Adding dried cranberries really made it taste a ton better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was my first cheese ball. It got rave reviews. I have made this cheese ball 5 times now since Xmas, and it's been a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States