Ruth's Roquefort Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used candied pecans on the outside - soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4krisp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
After reading some of the other reviews, I planned ahead for adjustments. However, I did make this cheese ball as written so I could judge for myself. I agree it is a bit bland as written so my ingredients measured as follows: 8 oz cream cheese, 4 1/2 oz bleu cheese crumbles,2 heaping Tablespoons EACH of celery & sweet Valencia onion finely chopped, 5 drops Tabasco pepper sauce, 1/4 teaspoon ground red cayenne pepper, 1/4 teaspoon each of onion powder & garlic powder. Blended all ingredients till smooth and creamy, then placed in the refrigerator to chill for 6 hrs. Shaped it into a ball and covered again! Covered the cheese ball with diced pecans and ate with crackers. THIS RECIPE IS EXCELLENT & the added Bleu cheese really is a huge hit for the Bleu cheese lovers! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Anyone making this for the first time really should make as written & then decide for themselves to tweak or not to tweak to their palate. :) Definitely will make again ... soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Why is this called a Roquefort Cheese Ball when you use Blue Cheese 1 star for the recipe as is 5 stars if you use Roquefort( NO celery grated carrots instead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
There are few things I like better than a good cheese ball. This one did not disappoint- plus it was a great change from the dried beef-green onion one I usually make. Using the advice of previous reviews I added more onions and celery. I doubled the cayenne pepper, added a little salt and added a dash of celery salt. I used 4 ounces of bleu cheese because I really like the flavor. Do not skip the pecans. I got a lot of compliments on this-- even from a person who doesn't like bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! Great blue cheese flavor. I especially loved it served on the ritz pretzel/cheese flip crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
this is a wonderful and simple recipe. I needed to bring a cheese plate to a Halloween party, so I prepared the cheese exactly as mentioned except I added 2 drops of blue food coloring (for effect)then I rolled the chilled cheese log in Black sesame seeds instead of nuts and served it with a darker colored cracker. It was great looking and perfect for the occasion. It was a rave and gone almost within the first 15 minutes of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
pretty good. I added a bit more onion and feta cheese. Got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was the second cheese ball I ever made and it was really good. I formed it into the shape of a baseball (for my son's birthday party) and used some pepperoni for the laces. I was a real "home run" with my guests. Man that was cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pohl Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe, but a little bland. Adding dried cranberries really made it taste a ton better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was my first cheese ball. It got rave reviews. I have made this cheese ball 5 times now since Xmas, and it's been a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States