Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My family LOVED this soup and gobbled it all up! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients so these are the changes I made: 1/2 stick (more) of butter, dried garlic (didn't have fresh on hand), no allspice or cloves, chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, no kale, cilantro or file powder. I used extra celtic sea salt and added Oregano (on a whim), but followed the basic instructions with what I had. All that to say, if you don't have every ingredient, it's worth making anyway. We are making a double batch of this today it was so good. ** Editing to say that I've made this several more times and it's become a mainstay dish for our family. I prefer it with Kale and we love the added Cilantro at the end. I usually make it with roast or chicken that I've cooked in the crockpot which gives me the broth that I need and some meat to put in as well. Everyone we've had this with has loved it, so it's a great "company" dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I doubled the amount of kale and added a third cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Delicious! This soup has a very hearty and delightfully unique taste. The fact that it is vegetarian and could easily be made vegan by subbing olive for the butter is an added bonus. My lentils were tender in only 25 minutes; lentil cooking times vary greatly depending on how long they have been stored, so I would advise checking them to make sure that you do not end up with mush. I used 1 teaspoon of cumin and did adjust the seasoning at the end by adding some Himalayan sea salt, which I thought was sorely needed, perhaps because I used low sodium vegetable broth. File powder is ground sassafras leaves used for both flavoring and thickening. I don’t think it was necessary to thicken this soup but the file powder in addition to the other spices added a wonderful complexity to the flavor. It can be ordered from Penzeys.com if your grocery does not carry it. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Delicious, but I'd love to know what I can substitute for file powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salubrious Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Incredible blend of spices and vegetables, I added parsnip and I only had to cook the soup for 20 mins until the potato was starting to crumble when handled, no where near the 35-45 mins stated so watch out folks! Just so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
so, how good is this soup? awesome! i did not need to add the file powder, the soup was thick enough. p.s. what is file powder? 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was SO good! Used sweet potatoes instead of red and an entire bunch of kale. This is the way to eat kale for sure. Upped the Cumin seeds to 1 tsp. Didnt add any file. Between the cumin and the cayanne pepper it had a tiny bit of kick to it. By the time I finished the bowl my mouth was tingling. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Good recipe but too much heat for me. (I don't like spicy; others may find it not spicy at all) I find it hard to believe only 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper makes it have such a bite. I made minor changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/2 Tablepsoons olive oil in place of butter to keep it healthier. I used dried cilantro in place of fresh, using less. I subbed spinach for kale as that was all I had. I skipped the file powder; never heard of it therefore didn't have it. I found the soup to be plenty hearty and thick. I used additional vegetable broth rather than water as it started to thicken up. I definitely will make this soup again, just will skip the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made this just the way the recipe said to and it was great! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great combination of spices! I didn't have celery, so used mushrooms and an extra carrot. Instead of kale, I used up some dark, leafy green lettuce. Wonderful soup with a super taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States