Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
File powder is in the spice section. I believe it is ground sassafrass leaf, often used in gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is yummy and SO healthy. I like it best when made with World's Greatest Vegetable Broth, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Did not have Allspice or File, and did not want Cayenne, but the clove and cumin (ground) were a great combo. Canola oil instead of butter. I made a larger batch (more than double), so improvised with a sliced red bell pepper (good color) and no kale (nearly added spinach towards the end). I added some sea salt at the end since my veg. broth was low sodium. I also used pearl onions instead of chopped. Next time the potatoes will be a little larger (too soft in long boil) and more carrots. Great recipe for modification (go curry, go oregano/basil, go spicy) and for vegan diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it! But I did change up a few things, instead of chicken broth I used 6 cups f water and added (Better than Bouillon). Also didn't put cloves or allspice, so I added 2 tablespoons of cumin and 2 tablespoons of dried mint and cilantro. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I'm starting to hope I did something wrong here, because I thought this soup, even with the seasonings, was bland, bland, bland. Even adding a few shakes of salt did not give this soup any real flavor. Only changes I made were normal onion instead of a sweet onion, no file powder, and regular lentils instead of red, but I don't see that throwing off the flavor that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I was cleaning out the fridge and wanted to use up some kale, celery, parsey and potatoes. This soup is full-bodied and delicious. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this with red cabbage instead of kale. I found it unique and quite liked it. My husband made a face, but decided he liked it after he added a lot of hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
family loved it! easy and yummy. Used ground cumin and more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hastings, New York, USA
Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States