Ruth's Red Lentil and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is delicious! I even (I am ashamed to say)forgot to throw in the cilantro at the end and my guys still loved it! The only other difference in my soup is that with red lentils it becomes quite mushy - not like in the picture (I think those are green lentils?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I loved the spices in this lentil soup; in addition, I added ginger and turmeric root,coconut manna (butter), salt, and topped it with a dab of coconut milk and sprinkle of black pepper. I toasted the cumin seeds and allspice seeds quickly and ground them. Left out the water for a very thick stew and it was delicious for an all vegetarian dish. "Thankyou" for sharing this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Oh God like the best thing I have ever eaten and I am a total food snob. I did not use file powder...blah don't know what it is but sounds disgusting. I omitted the celery and I didn't have cloves and all spice so I improvised with nutmeg and ginger. I halved the recipe and uses 1/4 tsp of all spices. I also added a healthy pinch or two or salt. I threw everything into the crock pot for like 10 hrs and added a bit more liquid...to just cover all of the ingredients. I used vegetable stock and chicken stock when I ran out of the veggie stuff. Try this and you won't be disappointed. So easy and delicious...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Like others I lacked the file powder (used garam masala instead), beef broth instead of vegetable broth, and increased the cumin. We really liked the spices in this one; unique and very flavorful. Also, I let everything except the lentils simmer for about 15 minutes, brought it to a gentle boil and THEN added the lentils, lowered the heat to a simmer again and let it go until they were tender (about 15-20 minutes). Even with this change the lentils were a little more mushy than I like, but still a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My family and friends loved this dish! I made it in the crock pot. I let the lentils and onions cook first on high for 4 hours. Then I added the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
LOVED this and so did my family. Have a kid who won't eat tomatoes, so love a coupe recipe without 'em. Substituted with what was on hand - baking potatoes, red onions, celery seed, and ground cumin. Didn't have allspice, but threw in cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves. Used extra carrots and added a couple bouillon cubes. I didn't do a lot of measuring of spices, just threw things in, but kept it roughly the same - perhaps a little heavier. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogoet
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious... Very distinct flavor compared with our regular lentil stew. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I tried it. Excellent. Strange, I lived in Louisiana many years ago, and I heard about "File Gumbo". Wasn't quite sure what it was. I was in the store last week, and I saw "File powder" on the shelf. I figured I would try the recipe. Strange to cook without salt or meat. I did not have any kale, so I substituted collards. Came out OK. Will definetly make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Good and very flavorful. I sometimes make a plain red lentil soup, so this is a nice variation from that. If you're cooking for kids, beware that flavor is probably too strong for the young palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I left out the celery (used a whole bag of carrots instead & added celery salt) and the file powder. Went to 2 different stores, neither had red lentils, so I bought the only ones they had - they were not green, they looked tan to me. I always tweak the spices to suit our tastes, but I stayed pretty true to what the recipe suggested. I used olive oil instead of butter. And I wound up having to use well over 4 cups of water, so I don't think the file powder was necessary anyway. Used a whole bag of chopped kale and a bag of frozen spinach. One thing I wasn't planning on doing differently - my husband brought home baking potatoes instead of the red ones, and I don't like the way they come out in soups. So, I left them out and served baked potatoes with this. We both enjoyed the soup. I think I will make it again sometime (with the potatoes in it) if I can find red lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States