Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kristengenell
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Excellent!! This will be my one and only pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristengenell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Couldn't be better. Easy to make, to work with and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is the best pie crust ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made exactly as directed - this crust was perfectly flaky, rich and yet not excessively oily. Quite possibly one of the best pie crusts I've tasted. I was amazed that the bottom of my crust was still flaky despite the apple pie filling that I thought would have made it soggy. Ruth is a genius - I don't doubt that this 100 year tradition that will last forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
THIS WAS AMAZINGLY DELICOUS IF AS DISAPOINTED TO FIND THAT IT MAKES A DOUBLE CRUST WHEN I MADE IT SO I ENDED UP THROWING HALF OF IT AWAY BECAUSE I DIDN'T NEED IT. OTHER THEN THAT IT WAS REALLY DELICOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkiddie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I've made this crust several times with our apple pie slices. We love it. It is a perfect sized recipe since I use a jelly roll pan and we like thick crusts. Any extras that get trimmed off make great cinnamon pie crispies, too. This crust has flavor. A nice compliment to a sweet pie, would be good with a savory pie, too. IT took me a while to get used to the egg flavor in the crust with the pie crispies, but we soon fell in love with it there as well. We just love the texture, it is flaky and melt in your mouth (as long as you don't work too long with it). Try it... it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa Marx
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I have never made a pie crust before and this was super easy and very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Marx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a flavorful crust, perfectly suited to fruit pies. My only criticism is that it makes ALMOST enough for two, 2-crust pies...but not QUITE enough. This recipe as written, in my view, would make 3-single crust pie crusts. It was a stretch to make two double-crust pies, and I think this would have been particularly difficult for a novice baker. It would be better had the recipe indicated the yield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
864 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I used butter-flavored crisco. Made a blackberry pie and a cherry pie! Tastes great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tierney12
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was the first crust I ever made and it was awesome! I was getting king of worried because I thought I was handling it too much but, it still tasted great. The crust was flaky and soft all at the same time! I loved it-So, did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tierney12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States