Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My family's new favorite crust. Why? Because it tastes just like Gram's pie crust!! God rest her soul & forgive us for saying might be a lil better! Makes enough for a double & a single crust pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Stryker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
too gooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I am no longer intimidated by the ominous task of producing a successful pie crust. It has everything I look for in a pie crust...flakey, slightly sweet, buttery (I used half butter flavored Crisco & half unsalted butter). And equally important...it is easy, easy, easy to make. If you follow the video instructions, you will be very happy with your pie crust. IT IS A DEFINITE KEEPER! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was fantastic!!! The crust was so easy to work with and delicious!!! I've made it twice so far. Once with all lard and once with just a little bit of lard (I ran out) and the rest butter. Great both times!!! I wouldn't change a thing!!! (There is not too much salt! It was just right!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Just made this and it came out great! One of the lightest, flakiest crusts I have made! This will be the pie crust recipe I will be using from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This recipe worked out fairly well. It was a bit dry and crumbly (before baking), but I followed the directions exactly. Not sure why! It was the first pie crust I ever made from scratch so it could be something with technique? I YouTube'd a video on how to roll the dough. It didn't roll as thin as I think it is supposed to roll. (Perhaps because it was on the dry side.) But, it tasted great and made enough for 1 large (9") pie and 1 small pie so I would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Over the Thanksgiving holiday I used this recipe twice; once for an apple pie and again with my left over turkey in a pot pie. I'll NEVER use store bought crust again! Delicious and so easy to made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. I substituted butter for shortening, cutting into small pieces and followed the rest. It was best crust I ever made and it was gone too fast to take a picture??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Perfect! I have only attempted homemade crusts a few times and have never really had that much luck...UNTIL NOW...YAY!!!! I've made this 3 times in 3 days, and I get a ton of compliments with every pie. Super easy to whip together. I used shortening like the recipe calls for (instead of butter as some mentioned) and thought it had great taste. I love the crunch of the sugar. I used the recipe exactly as it said. I only have two recommendations that might be helpful. The first time I made this I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer and used the paddle attachment to bring the dough together. It sort of clumped around in my mixer but I just put it on a higher speed for a few seconds and it came together perfectly. The next two times I made it I didn't have my mixer, so I had to do it by hand. I found it to be a bit crumbly and hard to blend, but I just broke it into smaller batches and worked each ball of dough separately. Secondly, I'd brush the dough with an egg before putting it in the oven. It gave it a nice shine and golden color that really made a difference. Lastly, it makes quite a bit. I had enough for 2 crusts and possibly a third, but I like my crust thick and with a wide edge so I probably didn't get as much out of it as most people did. This will absolutely be my new crust recipe! UPDATE: I made this for the 4th time but forgot to pick up shortening at the store. I substituted butter = horrible result. Using shortening is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Made this pie crust for all my pies for Thanksgiving. Thumbs up from everyone in the family. Flaky, melt in your mouth good. Easy to roll out and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Gannia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States