Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just didn't know how long to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulywog
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have been looking for a flaky crust recipe and this one definitely fits the bill! OMG! It was perfect! Not a huge fan of Crisco so the only change I may try next time is using butter in place of Crisco. Hopefully it will remain just as flaky. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Just outstanding results the first time I made this. Going in for the second time now. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was so amazing! I completely suck at crusts and this worked out... a little hard to handle since its softer than a traditional crust but I think you can remedy that with popping it into the freezer as you go. AWESOME for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I've tried many pie crust recipe before and always hunted for the perfect one. I'm glad I tried this one. Its just what I was looking for. A balance of sweet and salt. Flaky enough but not to the point of crumbling when sliced. As most reviewers pointed out. its actually good for 3 single pie crust and not 4. Unless you use it for those lattice top pies, the this recipe would suffice for 2 pies. I would be using this recipe for all my pies from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made 3 pies. They are correct its only enough for 3 crusts the way it's written. Best crust I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This crust is excellent, although I felt that 2 tsp. of salt was too much. Next time, I'll try 1/2 the amount of recommended salt instead. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was so easy and all of the pies have been big hits with my family. It freezes so well you will be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great, fool proof recipe. I especially liked not having to use ice water. It came out sturdy and flaky. I use a pie crust rolling bag and found that there was plenty enough for 4 crusts. Crust should be thin. If you are only making three out of this, you are using too much per crust. Divide your crust into 4 equal balls and use a rolling bag or plastic wrap to roll it out thin and you will like the results better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States