Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent, flaky crust. Halved recipe for one pie and had enough extra for 5 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Grandma Ruth sure knows how to make the best pie crust in the world....no...the universe. No fretting about how to get it into the pie pan. Was actually fun smushing it around:) And the flavor was just terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I didn't have good luck with this recipe at all. After cutting the cold butter into the flour I added the ice water/egg mixture and stirred it up. It was still almost as crumbly as it was before I added the liquid. So I stirred in another 1/4 cp of ice water and the dough was still pretty crumbly. I added another 1/4 cp of ice water and finally it was the right consistency. It rolled out well and didn't stick to the counter as I picked it up. It turned out tough tho from all the extra stirring as I added the extra water. From all the 5 star reviews I thought this would be easy peasy but it wasn't at all - at least not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I can't believe how soft and flaky this crust was. I split in in 2, refrigerated them wrapped in over sized Saran Wrap, and rolled it in the wrap. Makes transferring to the pie dish easy. Loved it!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Came together nicely, easy to work with, enough left over after 2 deep dish pies to some in freezer another day, love love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made it two years in a row for a total of 5 pies. I did not like it last year and I do not like it this year. i have high expectations for pie crust and this fails to meet them. Bland taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is my first time making this recipe, the ONLY reason I am giving it 5 stars is because I read the reviews prior to making. This recipe ONLY makes enough for 3 crusts, NOT 4 like it says. I am glad I am only making 2 pies (needed the 3rd crust for lattice) and not 4 because I would have been severely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect crust! Easy to roll out and has a great flavor! I quartered the recipe because I only needed to make one pie, and it still worked out great! I used my left over crust after trimming it to make stuffed mini "pies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Love it!! Just what I was looking for, and it was easier than what I thought it would be! Thank you! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I am terrible at making pie crust, my Achilles heel in the kitchen and I avoid pie making if I can. I gave it one more shot with this recipe yesterday and happy to say I'm a convert! We made 5 crusts with one batch for aluminum 9" pie plates but a deep dish glass yielded only 3. Couldn't ask for a better pre baked crust with Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie from this site! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States