Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I thought this recipe was very easy to make and easy to work with. I do agree with other reviewers who said it was more like 3 crusts, not 4. I took that suggestion and just cut it into 3 when I made the crust and it worked out perfectly. The crust is very flaky, just how I like. My husband and MIL agreed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thought this recipe was easy BUT no one told me that it shrank a whole lot, I was shocked but now I know to make the sides really really high, it shrank down half way down my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My first time making pie crust. Should have read all the reviews first though. Didn't use ice water and may have handled the dough too much at first. But even so, the pie only lasted 2 days. In my house pie usually lasts a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Easy, flaky and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was amazing. My only advice is to use the original recipe to make ONLY 2 PIE CRUSTS. I made an apple pie using this recipe to yield two crusts and they were thick, flaky, and wonderful! Don't skimp on the pie crust! ! ! Make it for 2 crusts. I also used the butter flavored margarine. This will always be my crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
OMG!If I can make this and it turn out great anyone can!!! I have been trying for a while to make a flakey great tasting crust, and this is it!! I did use Butter flavored Crisco, came out AWESEOME. Make it for a homemade REAL pumpkin pie ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe has been part of my holiday dinner ritual for the last 4 years. Crusts turn out great and very tasty. Will continue to be our family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is my first pie crust, so I don't really have much to compare it to. I liked the flavor a lot - I used butter flavored shortening, like others; I did feel like it was a little greasy, but that might have been mental, because I find shortening a little creepy. (I used it here anyway because I've heard it makes the best pie crusts.) I'm not a great pie-roller-out-er, to say the least, and so I only got two (thick) single crusts from this. It crumbled quite a bit as I was trying to crimp the edges but, again, that might have been me. Anyway, I did love the flavor, and will keep this recipe in mind, but will also keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emvaller
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Best crust I've had. This recipe yielded exactly three single-crusts, and was easily frozen in between uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emvaller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
EXCELLENT! Great taste, wonderful to work with, just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States