Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've used a lot of different pie crust recipes over the years, and I think this one is my least favorite to date. The pros to this recipe are that the dough is easy to work with, and there's a lot of it (easily enough to make a double pie crust in a 9" pan). The cons are that it is too wet & oily to make a good, flaky crust. This pie crust is so wet that its texture is almost more of a cookie dough. I think this is a good recipe for beginners to start with because the dough is so easy to work with, but the final product leaves a lot to be desired. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've been baking pies for years but decided to see what the top rated pie crust is on all-recipes. This pie crust is awesome! I love how easy it is to use (although my first attempt was rough because I didn't mix it enough). It is great with non sweet pies too. I tested it with a chocolate pie and meat pie. My husband said even though he knew it had sugar and it seemed sweet with the chocolate pie, you couldn't even tell with the meat pie. I'll be using it for all my pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made my first pie (of all time) last year using this crust and 'Apple Pie by Grandma Ople' from allrecipes. It was the best pie & crust I've ever eaten in my life. I also used butter flavored Crisco instead of regular shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Wow! What a fabulous pie crust! I have a confession to make... I only had 1 cup of Crisco, so ended up using a stick of butter for the remaining 3/4 cup of shortening. Um... it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Incredible! The last time I made a pie crust I was 6 years old and barefoot in my great grandmother's kitchen. I ALWAYS do the frozen store bought crusts because I've heard how difficult it is to make pie crusts. But when I went to make a quiche tonight and found my marie calendar's crust spoiled I was backed into a corner. Thank heavens because I am sold on this pie crust! No more store boughts for me! This recipe was super easy and fast to make, not to mention incredibly delicious! God bless Ruth AND her grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Worked quite well for me. I rolled out the dough between 2 sheets of waxed paper, easy to flip and place in baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This crust is amazing! The only thing I changed was that I did 1 cup of butter and 3/4 C shortening to add more buttery flavor. It was a big hit! I usually don't like pie crust, but I could eat this all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The crust was fine and everything but the yield was way off. It does NOT make 4 pie crusts easily. It makes three. I stretched it to make four and the results were not great. When I re-did this recipe again, I used the recipe for 3 crusts instead and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was my first pie crust and I was very surprised by the results! It tasted great and was so easy to work with! I made a blueberry by with a lattice crust with this recipe and turned out great! I spread a little butter on the bottom crust and a few small chunks of butter on the top crust. I'd say there was just enough left over to do one more double crust 9 inch pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I've recently tried this and it came out ok. I'll try it again with much less shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States