Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This seriously is the best and easiest pie crust! Until this point, I had used my grandma's trusty pie crust recipe for all my pies, but I wanted to try something different for Christmas dessert. I only had a cup of shortening, so I also used unsalted butter, and the combination really worked well! This is a very tasty, flaky crust that is very easy to work with. I highly recommend it with the "Best Cherry Pie" recipe on this site! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
still in the process of baking it. What I don't get is many recipes never say how long to bake, does one need to prick the bottom? Sure would help people that are not as experienced in baking.... one more thing, do you grease the pie pan??? Wish people would complete the recipes !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Stock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Not good at all. Tasted like a pot pie crust rather than a dessert pie. I'm not a great baker but I can follow directions. It was hard to work with but I chalk that up to me..but the finished product was greasy and not sweet enough at all. Really not good for a fruit pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Meada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The first year I used this I made 27 different pies for the holidays. I had nothing but great compliments. As of this time I probably made more than 200 pies. Only recently I made a change. I now use 2 cups of shortening instead of 1 3/4 cups. It makes it a little more flaker. Also, it's real important to keep it as cold as possible until ready to stick in thr oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milam
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA
Photo by ilonaarut
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The Best pie crust ever! Worth the extra ingredients that goes in. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I look for 4 and 5 star recipes that I don't need to read the reviews whereas I can count on directions given at submission. "Chilling until ready to use" doesn't cut it with this recipe. Terrible to handle unless you do. Definitely NOT ready for use in 10 minutes. Moving on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect! Actually made enough for 3 topless pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect crust, flaky and delicious. Made a blueberry pie and this crust recipe was plenty for two crusts, top and bottom for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I'm confused by the ratings... Mine was awful :( I made it to the T and it was sticky and awful. It also fell apart. I thought I had used this recipe last time I made apple pie but I was thrown off by the egg and amount of water - I'm positive I didn't use that before. So I was very disappointed with the end result and waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Zambito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The only pie crust recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States