Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Recipe was great, I used a few suggestions from comments, don't over work the dough and use ice water. The only thing I could have done better was roll it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Easy and quite flaky! Made more than enough for one double crust pie plus a single. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was an excellent recipe for a traditional pie crust, sweet and light. I've used it for apple and pumpkin pies so far, and will use it for my next pies. I didn't make any changes and definitely recommend. Thank you, Ruth's Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmilingFoodLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Really great crust! Flakey, great flavor. I use with apple pie and pot pies. I agree with the other reviewers. I think it makes only 3 crusts. I make 2 patches and I think it makes 6 crust great. Will be using this for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Amazing!! I've 1/4thd the recipe for 1 crust and it's absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This worked great, the crust was beautiful and tasted yummy. I made a lattice top with it and by splitting it nice and even I had JUST enough for two 2 crust (top and bottom) pies..but if it was anything besides lattice, not enough dough. Plan accordingly, good recipe though and I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The only substitutions I made were 2 extra spoons of sugar, instead of just sugar I used my own cinnamon-sugar mix and I cut the shortening with half butter. Normally I don't like thick crust but this was perfect for a double crusted peach pie. My hubby loves crust so I also use this recipe for crust cut out cookies. For that I just sprinkle a little extra cinnamon and sugar on each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I loved the texture and flavor of this crust and how simple it was to put it together and how well it stayed together, unlike most lighter crusts. Rather than use the full, I put 16 servings to half this recipe. I had to use half an egg, but it was worth it. Next time, I'll do the full amount and make 2-4 pies at a time. However, I did not use shortening. I used Earth Balance, which gave the crust a wonderful light, flaky, soft but strong texture. It held up to the juices of a fresh blueberry pie (very juicy) but was not hard in spots like most crusts when then get wet (and turn into concrete). I will use this crust again and again. I think it will do well as a pumpkin pie crust. Finally, I also used a "crust dust" of cinnamon-sugar before I added the berry mixture. It gave the crust an almost Snickerdoodle cookie texture and flavor underneath the fruit layer, which gave this crust a nuanced, gourmet texture and aroma. Very good! I think this would taste really well with apples, pears, and maybe even a rhubarb-strawberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I love this crust! I made the most creative pie ever. My first pie came out as if it was made my 50th time! I'm shocked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
By far the best crust I've made. I've been looking for the perfect crust for years; this one is going in my collection. I did use a heavy metal pie pan instead of glass. That may have made a difference. Thanks Ruth's Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States