Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for my very first homemade pie crust and it turned out perfect! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Worked extremely well for my first attempt at homemade apple pie. I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Good crust. I will use this again for sure. I didn't change a thing. I divided this into thirds and froze the other two for another day. My husband said it was really good crust (better than his Mom's) so it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow this pie crust is the best, made it yesterday for a fruit pie and I have to say its the best recipe I've tried. So now I will stop looking for a five star pie crust because I found it!! Thank you Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It was very easy for me, a non-cook, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I just made this pie dough, my first time ever making a pie for my hubby's birthday, he doesn't like cake! I was nervous because all the family came over to celebrate and of course I had to try a new recipe, so I needed it to come out right. It was so easy and it came out delicious. I was so glad I made the dough instead if buying it as the pumpkin recipe called for. The dough made the pie that much better. No fail recipe! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is the great recipe for a crunch: we now use it all the time when we want to make a pie. I have also shared it with my friends who like baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have used a very similar recipe (my grandmothers!). For those who say it makes too much for a double crust pie, use 3 cups flour, 1 1/3 cups shortening, 5 tablespoons water & 1 tablespoon vinegar, 1 egg. I don't use sugar in my crust, but if it is a fruit pie, I will sprinkle the sugar on top. I usually do not even put the dough into the refrigerator. I just roll it out on a floured board! It always comes out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have this same recipe except it calls for 1 Tbls. vinegar. It's great, use it all the time. My recipe says it makes 5 shells, questionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have not tried this recipe yet but I have a suggestion for the issue of the dough being enough for 1 double crust and 1 single crust pie. Try using that extra bit of pie crust from this recipe for a cinnamon "tart". My sons never liked pie but they LOVED the crust with cinnamon sugar. So when I would make pie, I would make extra crust, roll it out, spread butter on it, sprinkle generously with cinnamon sugar. Fold the dough in half and crimp the edges with a fork, poke some holes in the top and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes and voila - a cinnamon pie to make the boys happy. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States