Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My first time making a crust and it was so easy and flaky and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious and so easy! I don't use shortening so I replaced that with butter. I'll probably try it with less sugar next time, but this it is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
i've made this crust several times now, and i really like it. both times for grandma oples apple pie from this site. however it is really hard to try to reroll... it gets tough easily. i am new at pastry/pie crusts so maybe i just need some more experience;)it is however the best i've found so far. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Overcomer1997
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my first time making homemade crust! I love allrecipes! This crust is so flavorful and delicious. My husband was so intrigued watching me roll this out and so was I. The crust is so stable and easy to work with. I will be using this to create pies food and deserts for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I used half butter and half shortening it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Difficult, but fantastic crust. The recipe is very flaky and flavorful, but I use a Kitchenaid to do the mixing and it comes out very wet and tough to manage (perhaps that's my fault for using the mixer?). However, 20-30 minutes in the freezer before trying to work with it works wonders. Additionally, rolling it out in between sheets of wax paper really helps (just be sure to flip it and peel the wax paper back pretty often to keep it smooth). It is particularly difficult to make the lattice, but chilling the lattice strips to the point where they are tough, but will still bend without splitting really helps. The flavor and texture cannot be beaten. I make pies in 10-inch pans and the recipes makes just a little too much for ONE 10-inch, double crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this as written except I used butter flavored shortening. It is now my go to pie crust! Absolutely loved it and the pie disappeared like magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made my first homemade apple pie this last Thanksgiving. I was terrified that I was going to screw the crust up. But It turned out perfect. It really must be fool proof! It has turned me on to trying to bake more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have never had success making homemade pie crust, but this one tasted great and was super easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
OMG!!! best pie crust recipe ever, I have made others pie recipes and by far this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States