Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
still in the process of baking it. What I don't get is many recipes never say how long to bake, does one need to prick the bottom? Sure would help people that are not as experienced in baking.... one more thing, do you grease the pie pan??? Wish people would complete the recipes !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Stock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Tasted like a pot pie crust rather than a dessert pie. I'm not a great baker but I can follow directions. It was hard to work with but I chalk that up to me..but the finished product was greasy and not sweet enough at all. Really not good for a fruit pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Meada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The first year I used this I made 27 different pies for the holidays. I had nothing but great compliments. As of this time I probably made more than 200 pies. Only recently I made a change. I now use 2 cups of shortening instead of 1 3/4 cups. It makes it a little more flaker. Also, it's real important to keep it as cold as possible until ready to stick in thr oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Milam
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Huffman, Texas, USA
Photo by ilonaarut
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The Best pie crust ever! Worth the extra ingredients that goes in. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
"Chilling until ready to use" doesn't cut it with this recipe. Terrible to handle unless you do. Definitely NOT ready for use in 10 minutes. Moving on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect! Actually made enough for 3 topless pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect crust, flaky and delicious. Made a blueberry pie and this crust recipe was plenty for two crusts, top and bottom for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I'm confused... this recipe didn't work for me. :( I made it to the T and it was sticky and also fell apart. I thought I had used this recipe last time I made apple pie but I was thrown off by the egg and amount of water - I'm positive I didn't use that before. So I was very disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Zambito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The only pie crust recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My family's new favorite crust. Why? Because it tastes just like Gram's pie crust!! God rest her soul & forgive us for saying might be a lil better! Makes enough for a double & a single crust pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Stryker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States