Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I only read the good reviews and wish i had read the less favorable ones too. This crust was a nightmare to work with. I had to mold it together. I thought it was something i did wrong even though i followed the recipe but now that i read the bad reviews i see i am not alone. It's in the oven but it doesn't matter what it tastes like, i won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Never made my own crust before...I tried this the first time and EVERYONE loved it!! Crust cooked nicely and wasn't dry! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used this recipe for my very first homemade pie crust and it turned out perfect! Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Worked extremely well for my first attempt at homemade apple pie. I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Good crust. I will use this again for sure. I didn't change a thing. I divided this into thirds and froze the other two for another day. My husband said it was really good crust (better than his Mom's) so it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow this pie crust is the best, made it yesterday for a fruit pie and I have to say its the best recipe I've tried. So now I will stop looking for a five star pie crust because I found it!! Thank you Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It was very easy for me, a non-cook, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I just made this pie dough, my first time ever making a pie for my hubby's birthday, he doesn't like cake! I was nervous because all the family came over to celebrate and of course I had to try a new recipe, so I needed it to come out right. It was so easy and it came out delicious. I was so glad I made the dough instead if buying it as the pumpkin recipe called for. The dough made the pie that much better. No fail recipe! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is the great recipe for a crunch: we now use it all the time when we want to make a pie. I have also shared it with my friends who like baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have used a very similar recipe (my grandmothers!). For those who say it makes too much for a double crust pie, use 3 cups flour, 1 1/3 cups shortening, 5 tablespoons water & 1 tablespoon vinegar, 1 egg. I don't use sugar in my crust, but if it is a fruit pie, I will sprinkle the sugar on top. I usually do not even put the dough into the refrigerator. I just roll it out on a floured board! It always comes out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States