Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is my first pie crust, so I don't really have much to compare it to. I liked the flavor a lot - I used butter flavored shortening, like others; I did feel like it was a little greasy, but that might have been mental, because I find shortening a little creepy. (I used it here anyway because I've heard it makes the best pie crusts.) I'm not a great pie-roller-out-er, to say the least, and so I only got two (thick) single crusts from this. It crumbled quite a bit as I was trying to crimp the edges but, again, that might have been me. Anyway, I did love the flavor, and will keep this recipe in mind, but will also keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emvaller
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Best crust I've had. This recipe yielded exactly three single-crusts, and was easily frozen in between uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emvaller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
EXCELLENT! Great taste, wonderful to work with, just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I substituted Garbanzo bean flour (wheat allergy) and it was still awesome--very tender and easy to handle!!! New favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Slaughter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Pie crust was good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Was so scared to make my own pie crust but this recipe was so simple and yet the most delicious pie crust ever! First batch I doubled to have some in the freezer. Not necessary as it is so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I've used the refrigerated pie crusts for my pies for years because I just couldn't find a recipe that was any better, but now I can leave the pre-packaged pie crusts in the store, I have finally found the best pie crust recipe! My whole family agrees...this is now the only pie crust I will ever use. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I just made an apple crumb pie and a pecan pie using this crust and it was wonderful. I added a little more flour when I rolled it out as mine was pretty soft but it turned out great. My judge is what do the leftover scraps taste like when I put cinnamon and sugar on them and bake them on a cookie sheet while the pie is baking - light, crisp, and great flavor. I have a new pie crust recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is the best pie crust i've made, I have tried so many and so far this is the best one. So flaky and it has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States