Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I was skeptical... my pie crusts tend to be fine, but not amazing. This one delivered and was flat out the best crust I have ever made. The next time I make it I will cut the salt down. I also took another reviewer's advice and started with a quarter cup of water. I only needed about a teaspoon more than that for the perfect amount of liquid. Had I started with the full half cup, the dough would have been too sticky. I also froze the shortening before using it. That seemed to make it really easy to cut into the flour. I also think I could have gotten four crusts out of it (not deep dish), but I stuck with three for this round. Next time I will try four. Thanks for sharing Grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this last night for a peach pie for a Labor Day cookout at a dear friend's house. I made the filling recipe from Smitten Kitchen. It was a beautiful pie! My husband, who really cares how food looks, said so! Everyone had wonderful things to say about it. This crust took a little more time than my usual pie crust recipe but it was worth the compliments! I will definitely do this again. I love to take something to a potluck or cookout that stands out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Only thing I do different when making this recipe it I forget about the bowl only because I learned that when making pie crust, using bowls is just dirty a useless item (less dishes to wash) I also increase the sugar slightly only because I like my pie crust to be on the sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I could have made 4 pie crusts with the dough depending on the size of the pie plate I used. Not all pie plates are the same size. I used lard, the sound of it doesn't gross me out, it made it delicious. Thank you for the recipe and for the video with instructions. You couldn't have made it any easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made it EXACTLY as suggested-made LOTS of it! PERFECT crust.. able to roll thin enough to make quiche and butter tarts.. THANK YOU! As good as my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Perfect. Cut in half to make a 2 layer pie! Make sure everything is really ice cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
5 stars for sure! I cut the recipe in half since I only needed 2 crusts (kind of strange to only use half an egg, but that's what I did) and used 6 tablespoons butter-flavored shortening and 1 stick of butter. My husband thinks this crust is better than his grandmother's, and she's famous for her crusts. Uh-oh...this might make for a very interesting Thanksgiving this year....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Amazing crust...so amazing my own grandmother asked for the recipe! I use butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I love this recipe. I have never made a pie crust before so I was nervous about it but this is so easy to follow & the pie was delicious. I used cold butter instead of shortening & scaled the recipe down for one single pie crust instead of having several crusts at once since I was making only one pie with a single crust. I made a strawberry meringue pie & it was fabulous. Pre-baking the crust by itself is a must. This is absolutely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talitha McEachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States