Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I've used the refrigerated pie crusts for my pies for years because I just couldn't find a recipe that was any better, but now I can leave the pre-packaged pie crusts in the store, I have finally found the best pie crust recipe! My whole family agrees...this is now the only pie crust I will ever use. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I just made an apple crumb pie and a pecan pie using this crust and it was wonderful. I added a little more flour when I rolled it out as mine was pretty soft but it turned out great. My judge is what do the leftover scraps taste like when I put cinnamon and sugar on them and bake them on a cookie sheet while the pie is baking - light, crisp, and great flavor. I have a new pie crust recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is the best pie crust i've made, I have tried so many and so far this is the best one. So flaky and it has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I have tried this recipe and it is absolutely wonderful. The crust is so buttery and moist. I have never had a crust any better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Thank you Barbara for posting this recipe. This is the best pie crust I have ever made. The dough was very easy to work with, and the taste is fabulous. This is the only crust I will ever make from no on, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe! Easy to work with and tasted great. Always had issues in the past with tough or flavorless pie crusts, but no more. A whiz to throw together, I loved it>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used lard in place of shortening and the crust was flaky and phenomenal! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The-FairLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
for the record, pie crust is my nemesis and I have NEVER mastered the art so my error really has to factor into this review. I thought this crust was rather think and "lard-y" tasting but i must just be a fan of butter crusts. used butter flavoured shortening but it still just tasted dense and oily. Maybe this would be better for a savoury pie but it pretty much overpowered my strawberry rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by razevedo0401
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is the first time I have ever used egg or sugar in my crust and it was perfect for a peach pie! The crust came out tender and flaky and absorbed just the right amount of juice while still saying crisp and not soggy. The amount of water/egg liquid was pretty close but I didn't use all of it...so use your best judgment when adding it. The crust did chill well and rolled out beautifully. I even re-rolled the left overs to make a second mini-pie and it didn't get tough or overworked. I think I found my new favorite crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by razevedo0401

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States