Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I think that that the only problem for me is the shortening, because in my opinion its not healthy I am going to try butter or oil or something a little healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I love, love, love this crust! This is the first I've ever made and it was very simple, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This crust is amazing! I have made it several times and people always compliment it and ask me for the recipe. I follow the directions exactly and it has come out so delicious every time. FYI, It is sweet, almost like a cookie, so don't use it for savory pies. I made that mistake on a pot pie once and it didn't taste so great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wonderful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is by far the best crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The dough was easy to work with. Made a beautiful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever used!! My husband, who is a chef, LOVES this crust and even admitted it is probably better than the recipe he has used for years!! I used one of the techniques mentioned in the comments suggesting to roll out the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and this worked wonderfully. To get the dough into the pan/on top of your pie I rolled out the dough, removed the top piece of plastic wrap and picked up the bottom piece to transfer the crust to the pan instead of trying to roll up the crust and move it - this worked great. Also I brushed the top of the crust with a little egg wash before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Best Ever! I won't even look for another recipe to try. This is the pie crust recipe that I will always use. Easy to work with and bakes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Amazing! Don't change a thing! Perfect for any pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I was never taught how to make a crust and I have to thank you for this recipe! it turned out so perfect made no changes so easy to work with thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniBeenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States