Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
OMG! When you have a professional baker ask for your recipe, you know you have a winner! I could never get my crusts just right, until this one. I used this AS IS for a deep dish lemon meringue and for a deep dish chicken pot pie. Because the pie dishes are so large I got only two crusts total so the chicken pot pie had only a top crust. The sugar was just right for fruit pies but a little odd for food pies, so next time I won't add the sugar for the next chicken pot pie (Chicken pot pie IX from here) which was also completely awesome! Thank you Ruth's Grandma for an exquisitely simple yet awesome recipe and thank you Ruth for posting it for the rest of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Eberhardt McCauley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Amy Messier
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
used butter Crisco and worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Messier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary A Patrick
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Very tasty. Easy to make. I use butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A Patrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Love the crust but only have one problem with this recipe. For those people whom have never made a pie crust. The recipe does not state how to roll the dough out or how to seal crust together. Thankfully I already know these things. But for those that don't I think this need more info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ?? Baker Galore ??
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Great crust! The dough was refreshing compared to the sweetness of the apple pie. Totally worth it ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sjorden
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Best pie crust recipe EVER!!!! I had just enough to make 2 pies with top and bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I have tried several different recipes and this is by far the best one I have used, it comes out perfect every time, the flavor of the crust is wonderful, I will continue to use this recipe and share it with my family and friends-Rebecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Excellent pie crust recipe! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Made this crust with NO CHANGES perfecto.....I will use this for all of my fruit pies, pot Pies and quiche. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This recipe was my very first attempt at a pie crust. I followed the given directions. The finished product was great! I'll never buy store bought again! I may try some of the other suggestion changes that other reviews have mentioned... But for now I'm overly happy with the given recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States