Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I used this crust recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie. It was fantastic! I used butter-flavored shortening as other reviewers suggested, and it was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Tried this crust for Thanksgiving pies. This dough is really hard to work with. I followed the instructions exactly and it kept breaking apart when I was rolling it out. Not just cracking in the corners but actually broke a part really early in the process of rolling the dough out. I tried tips in the all recipes pie crust troubleshooting guide, but nothing really worked. Next year, I'm going to try another recipe. Tomorrow (thanksgiving day) this recipe will have to do though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanitha Gopal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This dough was incredibly difficult to work with. I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Only subbed out the shortening for butter. Used the recipe as directed otherwise. I did find that I needed more water, but that amount can vary anyway in a pie crust recipe depending upon the kind of flour used. Love it. Perfect. My first time making a crust with an egg. I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy delicious crust. I got two pies out if it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
it made the apple pie a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I just didn't know how long to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul Thompson
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have been looking for a flaky crust recipe and this one definitely fits the bill! OMG! It was perfect! Not a huge fan of Crisco so the only change I may try next time is using butter in place of Crisco. Hopefully it will remain just as flaky. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Just outstanding results the first time I made this. Going in for the second time now. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was so amazing! I completely suck at crusts and this worked out... a little hard to handle since its softer than a traditional crust but I think you can remedy that with popping it into the freezer as you go. AWESOME for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States