Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Best I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gsbstanley
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Perfect just as it is. I just always add extra Cinnamon and an egg wash on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was so fragile to work with that it fell apart trying to put it in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This pie crust is ok, but not great! It was very easy to make and that is why I strayed from my usual crust recipe. The feel of the dough was awesome and the crumbs came together with no effort at all. The crust baked beautiful and even and I was excited to try it...but was not great! It was really salty and the odd thing was...I only used a single teaspoon, instead of the 2 teaspoons (which I thought was too much). Other things I am taking into consideration that may have made this crust taste not so great...I used Organic Flour and Non-Hydrogenated Shortening. I don't think this should impede on the taste, just the opposite, but it could've been the culprit to this recipe. Otherwise, I'll stick to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjv4EVER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I used this crust recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie. It was fantastic! I used butter-flavored shortening as other reviewers suggested, and it was PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Tried this crust for Thanksgiving pies. This dough is really hard to work with. I followed the instructions exactly and it kept breaking apart when I was rolling it out. Not just cracking in the corners but actually broke a part really early in the process of rolling the dough out. I tried tips in the all recipes pie crust troubleshooting guide, but nothing really worked. Next year, I'm going to try another recipe. Tomorrow (thanksgiving day) this recipe will have to do though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanitha Gopal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This dough was incredibly difficult to work with. I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Only subbed out the shortening for butter. Used the recipe as directed otherwise. I did find that I needed more water, but that amount can vary anyway in a pie crust recipe depending upon the kind of flour used. Love it. Perfect. My first time making a crust with an egg. I will do it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Easy delicious crust. I got two pies out if it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
it made the apple pie a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States