Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great basic pie crust recipe for using shortening! I cut it down to 28 servings and still had way too much, but I'll use the leftovers for poptarts :). I think next time I might put butter in it, but that's just personal preference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made this to go with blueberry pie. I thought it was perfect and didn't change anything. A very delightful, flaky crust. This will be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna Brennfoerder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is an excellent crust. It is easy to work with and turned out very flaky and flavorful. My husband and I both loved it. Used it for the Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie from this site. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've never made pie crust before. And I made a last minute buttermilk pie and needed a last minute pie crust recipe. Thank goodness for Barbara Castodio! When they say it is no fail, it is no fail! I made it exactly as posted & it was perfect. I only made one pie, and I didn't need top & bottom crust. I couldn't tell you one way or another if it made an adequate amount for two pies. But I can tell you that I have enough pie dough left over that as soon as I get home from work, I will be making another buttermilk pie w/this crust. What a life saver and what an amazing crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I have struggled with pie dough for years. This recipe is fail-proof, easy and delicious. It also freezes well for later use. Sharing the namesake also makes me smile :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This yummy recipe makes 4 single crusts at once!! Yay for time savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I have never made my own pie crust and I was so nervous to do so, but this turned out perfect! I cut this recipe in half because I only needed 2 crusts for what I was making. I used this recipe for making a chicken pot. A recipe I found on here as well. The crust came out delicious and flaky. It wasn't hard to work with at all. I was worried that there wasn't going to be enough for my 9.5" pie dish, but it worked. Thanks for this recipe! I will always use this when making my own pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is my go to pie crust. I refuse to use any other. My dad, who is the ultimate food critic, can find no fault in it. The recipe does not tell you to use ice water(watch the video). Also cool the dough in the fridge for an hour so it isn't too sticky. I substitute butter flavored baking sticks in lieu of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is amazing. I've used it a couple times; once mixing it to a cookie dough consistency, added the egg and water, turned it into a soupy mess, added some more flour mixing by hand. The end result was still flaky pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States