Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
If there were 10 stars I would click on all ten. This is the BEST pie crust. It easily makes enough for two fruit pies or 4 single crust pies. It freezes well and is ALWAYS crisp and holds onto the crispness even after being refrigerated for a few days. EASY TO WORK WITH AND DELICIOUS! thank you for this recipe. An egg? Who would have thought???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was the best ever made and I use butter instead of vegt oil, which makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Blondie Bumstead
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this dough/pastry recipe just as written, but added (with the water/egg mixture a half tsp white vinegar). The pastry when cooked was light, flaky and delicious! I will keep this recipe as my regular one for any pies (meat or fruit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this for a turkey pot pie I was making for dinner. It was the first crust I felt like I've made with success. I thought it turned out nicely. The hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Its hard to do wrong with this recipe. I remember having lots of trouble with pie crust in the past and this was easy easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy and yummy!! This will be the pie crust recipe I use from now on. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I thought this recipe was very easy to make and easy to work with. I do agree with other reviewers who said it was more like 3 crusts, not 4. I took that suggestion and just cut it into 3 when I made the crust and it worked out perfectly. The crust is very flaky, just how I like. My husband and MIL agreed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I thought this recipe was easy BUT no one told me that it shrank a whole lot, I was shocked but now I know to make the sides really really high, it shrank down half way down my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My first time making pie crust. Should have read all the reviews first though. Didn't use ice water and may have handled the dough too much at first. But even so, the pie only lasted 2 days. In my house pie usually lasts a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Easy, flaky and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States