Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
So flakey and comes out perfect every time I make it. I will make no other crust from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I used unsalted butter instead of shortening in this recipe and it still came out perfectly. I made a double crust for an apple pie and the top puffed up golden brown and so light. The flavor is excellent. I will use this recipe again and again, I know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
by far the best crust i have ever had/made. Also great for chicken pot pie :) THank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is PERFECT! My father is a baker and making the perfect crust can be difficult if you don't know the tricks. I advise watching the video on how to make a crust on this site and then use this receipt. The dough was easy to mold and use and came out super tasty! Thank you Ruth and Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
LOVE this recipe! The crust comes out flaky just like I like it:-) I made one big 13" pie for a party + two 6" pies for home. Thank you Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for DaJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Best and easiest recipe. Everyone **LOVED** it. Very easy to roll and shape in pan. I used 1 cup butter flavored shortening and 3/4 cup regular shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good pie crust but it does as mentioned by other make a lot. I used the butter flavored shortening. Made a 9 inch, deep dish apple pie w/a lattice top and had enough dough left over for at leastthe bottom of another pie. Will use again though. Flakey & light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is the best pie crust I've ever had. I made it exactly per the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is a nice and simple, yet very tasty pie crust...I use it for almost at my deserts when I have to make a crust for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is a good, universal recipe. Crispy and flaky! One of the better recipes i have made/had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States