Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I just made this pie dough, my first time ever making a pie for my hubby's birthday, he doesn't like cake! I was nervous because all the family came over to celebrate and of course I had to try a new recipe, so I needed it to come out right. It was so easy and it came out delicious. I was so glad I made the dough instead if buying it as the pumpkin recipe called for. The dough made the pie that much better. No fail recipe! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is the great recipe for a crunch: we now use it all the time when we want to make a pie. I have also shared it with my friends who like baking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have used a very similar recipe (my grandmothers!). For those who say it makes too much for a double crust pie, use 3 cups flour, 1 1/3 cups shortening, 5 tablespoons water & 1 tablespoon vinegar, 1 egg. I don't use sugar in my crust, but if it is a fruit pie, I will sprinkle the sugar on top. I usually do not even put the dough into the refrigerator. I just roll it out on a floured board! It always comes out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have this same recipe except it calls for 1 Tbls. vinegar. It's great, use it all the time. My recipe says it makes 5 shells, questionable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have not tried this recipe yet but I have a suggestion for the issue of the dough being enough for 1 double crust and 1 single crust pie. Try using that extra bit of pie crust from this recipe for a cinnamon "tart". My sons never liked pie but they LOVED the crust with cinnamon sugar. So when I would make pie, I would make extra crust, roll it out, spread butter on it, sprinkle generously with cinnamon sugar. Fold the dough in half and crimp the edges with a fork, poke some holes in the top and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes and voila - a cinnamon pie to make the boys happy. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very easy to roll out without problems. First pie crust recipe I ever used and it was great. For the top crust I cut out shapes with a cookie cutter and layered them on. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I have made 3 pies in the past week with this recipe. Look no further this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I've been using this recipe for years, it never fails! I make exactly as written, and it's perfect. Thank you for an amazing recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was the best pie crust I have ever made. Very easy and goof proof. Flaky and a little sweet. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Wow *WAY* too much salt!! Good texture & easy to work with but this was a VERY salty crust. Even with ice cream and a glass of milk, a piece of pie with this crust was kind of overwhelming. You could easily cut the salt in half and have a great basic crust with good flavor. Also only makes 3 single crusts, unless you're a pro at rolling out super thin crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States