Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wonderful! I just made a meat and eggplant pie with this crust. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is the PERFECT recipe for pie crust. I used it for chicken pot pie last knight and it was the best pie ever! I tried many recipes por crust pie trough the years and this is THE recipe. This crust is flaky and when you put it in your mouth it melts. The flavour is buttery yummy. I had 1/2 cup of shortening so I used butter for the rest and it was great. The best part is that it looks so preatty once baked. Other people said that the dough comes out to wet and it is hard to handle. Where I live is very dry so I usually when I make doughs I do not use all the flour that calls for , but if you live in a humid area you probably should use a little bit less of the liquid that calls for if it is to sticky, so just add little by little the liquid ensted of all at once. Be shure to put a big pice of wax paper on the counter top so you can roll the dough much more easy, and do not be afraid to use flour under your dough when you are rolling so it do not stick to the paper. Thanks so , so , so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good One
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Worked great and got lots of compliments. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this crust for Apple Pie by Grandpa Ople & it was great! As another reviewer suggested, I used butter flavored crisco & brushed pie with lightly beatn egg before baking. This reacipe really only made 1 double & 1 single pie crust. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I will never make crust any other way again! Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this pie crust this past Sunday for dinner, and it was by far the best tasting and easiest to handle crust out there. I've always been in search of something similar to my grandma's crust, and sorry grandma...but this one is better! There would be enough dough for 1 whole pie (bottom and cover) and then a second base...think lemon meringue pie. You might even be able to stretch it a bit for a lattice pie top, but it's difficult if you don't want your crusts paper thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was my first time making pie crust and it turned out beautifully! Made this for Apple Pie by Grandma Ople from this site. I had enough dough for the apple pie crust and lattice top and one more bottom crust that I used to make the Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie from this site. All was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
First time making pie crust and it turned out so much better then I thought it would. I was scared to try making it because I have heard how hard it is to work with but this wasn't bad at all. I love my Kitchen Aid mixer and let it do all the work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a new favorite. It has a good flavor, a nice yellowish color and is great from everything from quiche to pies. For savory dishes, I always add garlic powder or salt to give it a flavor boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjhemory
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States