Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made it EXACTLY as suggested-made LOTS of it! PERFECT crust.. able to roll thin enough to make quiche and butter tarts.. THANK YOU! As good as my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Perfect. Cut in half to make a 2 layer pie! Make sure everything is really ice cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
5 stars for sure! I cut the recipe in half since I only needed 2 crusts (kind of strange to only use half an egg, but that's what I did) and used 6 tablespoons butter-flavored shortening and 1 stick of butter. My husband thinks this crust is better than his grandmother's, and she's famous for her crusts. Uh-oh...this might make for a very interesting Thanksgiving this year....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Amazing crust...so amazing my own grandmother asked for the recipe! I use butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I love this recipe. I have never made a pie crust before so I was nervous about it but this is so easy to follow & the pie was delicious. I used cold butter instead of shortening & scaled the recipe down for one single pie crust instead of having several crusts at once since I was making only one pie with a single crust. I made a strawberry meringue pie & it was fabulous. Pre-baking the crust by itself is a must. This is absolutely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talitha McEachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The flavor was good, and the recipe made plenty, but this was possibly the most difficult crust to handle that I've ever dealt with. It was so moist that I couldn't lift or roll it over the rolling pin to move it. Even adding a good bit of flour didn't help. It would be great for a recipe where you press the dough into a pan or make a free form tart or something, but for pie, it was unmanageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This Is the BEST Pie crust!!! So easy to work with no changes needed I made this crust for pot pies Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is the first successful pie crust I've ever made! It is so delicious. I used the crust in Apple Pie by Grandma Ople.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great pie crust! And, so easy. I made them ahead and froze them. They make 3 crusts (so, 1 double crust pie and 1 single crust pie). I made a pear pie with the single crust, and it came out perfectly. I made a steak n ale pie with the double and YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Well, I ventured into my own pastry making today and after reading reviews, I chose this one. And I am SO GLAD! Oh, this turned out amazing! I was a bit concerned when I was mixing it, it still seemed a bit dry, so just a touch more of the cold water made it perfect! I am so pleased! I am so glad for the reviews from all of you, those help so much! Especially for a first timer. Now I can't wait to make another pie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States