Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I will give this a 2 stars for good flavor but I could not get it to roll out for me. Stuck to everything,,,but would not hold together. It cracked and crumbled. I did chill the dough first. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I followed the directions exactly. The crust was flaky, but it's not very flavorful. Maybe, it needed more salt then the 2 teaspoons. It tasted like the shortening. I used this recipe for chicken pot pie, so it was ok. Everything else with texture, baking turned out awesome. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
It really is the most delicious crust I have ever made! A little bit more difficult since the pastry is so delicate but it's really worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I don't know much about pie crust, but this was so flaky and just the right amount of sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This made a delicious, flaky pie crust. The problem I have with this recipe is that it seems to assume that the baker is experienced. At a bare minimum, I think it should include basic instructions that get the ingredients all the way to "crust" stage - this recipe stops at the "dough" stage. Even better would be if the recipe included advice about chilling ingredients, not overworking the dough, how long to refrigerate, etc. I might use another recipe in the future just because I don't make pie crusts often and I would like to have those reminders in my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This turned out great. It was the first successful crust I've made Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Awesome pie crust! So easy to make, rolls out nicely but still has a great taste. I've tried tons of pie crust recipes but this is definitely my favorite! Because I was running low on shortening, I subbed margarine and butter for half of the shortening called for, and will do the same when I make this crust again. I also added a little more salt (maybe an extra 1/2 teaspoon or so) than called for since I was making pot pie from two of the crusts. Delicious in both sweet and savory pies even with a little more salt. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Perfect crust - used for turnover-style apricot pie triangles...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
WOW, tried this recipe today 5/20/2015 and it was super easy to put together. Easier than any other pie crust recipe, I believe due to the egg. No extra water was required. I thought perhaps the shortening seemed like an awful lot, But, it's exactly correct and this rolled out like a dream, I even made my first lattice top crust and it was a huge success, paired w/the blueberry pie recipe, from this site*!* My Thanks to Barbara C and her Grandma Ruth, a genious even then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I always use this pie crust recipe - and it always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States