Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is the best pie crust I've ever used and I've tryed a lot in my search for a great pie crust. Another great thing about it is it makes a lot to start with, you don't have to double. Thank you for sharing;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Turned out nice and flaky. The reason for the three stars is that I found the flavour not to my liking. Using all shortening, in my mind, is not a good idea. Didn't taste right. I will try using butter, or a butter-shortening mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe, came out great. Made 3 deep dish pie crusts with this instead of 4 regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Will never use another apple pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I substituted the shortening with oil and the all purpose flour with whole wheat and the crust still turned out yummy. love it. Just be careful that you don't add too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious!!! I try to stay away from using shortening, but when it comes to pie crust I just have not found anything that makes crusts so well. This recipe is awesome. I have never had much luck making pie crust; it is always too dry or something, and never looks nice. I have made this several times, first for cherry pie, and second for chicken pot pie. I just love it, and it will be my favorite recipe from now on. I don't even worry about having cold shortening and water. I just mix it all together and roll it out right away; no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yes, indeed! This is the best pie crust for ease of use and freezing. It browns nicely and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have made a lot of pie crust through the years and this tops them all. Works for sweet and savory pies. Ruth's Grandma definately knows pie crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe was a nightmare, I have another pie crust recipe that works much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I followed the directions exactly. I found the pie crust difficult to work with while rolling out. Then, it took forever to cook (increased my tart's cook-time by 20 minutes). It came out super-brittle. As a side-note: it tasted extremely bland, (not that pie crusts are especially flavorful, but I felt like it was overly bland). I'd offer suggestions for improvement, but I'm calling this one a loss. I'm so sorry to leave a bad review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States