Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is my first time making homemade crust! I love allrecipes! This crust is so flavorful and delicious. My husband was so intrigued watching me roll this out and so was I. The crust is so stable and easy to work with. I will be using this to create pies food and deserts for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I used half butter and half shortening it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Difficult, but fantastic crust. The recipe is very flaky and flavorful, but I use a Kitchenaid to do the mixing and it comes out very wet and tough to manage (perhaps that's my fault for using the mixer?). However, 20-30 minutes in the freezer before trying to work with it works wonders. Additionally, rolling it out in between sheets of wax paper really helps (just be sure to flip it and peel the wax paper back pretty often to keep it smooth). It is particularly difficult to make the lattice, but chilling the lattice strips to the point where they are tough, but will still bend without splitting really helps. The flavor and texture cannot be beaten. I make pies in 10-inch pans and the recipes makes just a little too much for ONE 10-inch, double crust pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this as written except I used butter flavored shortening. It is now my go to pie crust! Absolutely loved it and the pie disappeared like magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made my first homemade apple pie this last Thanksgiving. I was terrified that I was going to screw the crust up. But It turned out perfect. It really must be fool proof! It has turned me on to trying to bake more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have never had success making homemade pie crust, but this one tasted great and was super easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
OMG!!! best pie crust recipe ever, I have made others pie recipes and by far this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I couldn't believe it... on my first try this came out really well. I didn't even know what I was really doing having not made a pie crust before. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Good recipe! Used it my first time making a homemade apple pie, it completed the pie recipe wonderfully. This will be my go to recipe when it comes to pie crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever made, and honey, I've made a few. I made a pumpkin pie on a Wednesday evening, refrigerated it overnight, served it cold the next day & the crust was light & flaky. We just finished it off tonight, 3 days later and this crust was STILL light & flaky! LOVE IT!!! It is my "new" pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier

Displaying results 151-160 (of 755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States