Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved this recipe! Easy to work with and tasted great. Always had issues in the past with tough or flavorless pie crusts, but no more. A whiz to throw together, I loved it>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used lard in place of shortening and the crust was flaky and phenomenal! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The-FairLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
for the record, pie crust is my nemesis and I have NEVER mastered the art so my error really has to factor into this review. I thought this crust was rather think and "lard-y" tasting but i must just be a fan of butter crusts. used butter flavoured shortening but it still just tasted dense and oily. Maybe this would be better for a savoury pie but it pretty much overpowered my strawberry rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by razevedo0401
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is the first time I have ever used egg or sugar in my crust and it was perfect for a peach pie! The crust came out tender and flaky and absorbed just the right amount of juice while still saying crisp and not soggy. The amount of water/egg liquid was pretty close but I didn't use all of it...so use your best judgment when adding it. The crust did chill well and rolled out beautifully. I even re-rolled the left overs to make a second mini-pie and it didn't get tough or overworked. I think I found my new favorite crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by razevedo0401

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I just love old recipes like this. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Awesome pie crust recipe! But I have to agree that it's a huge error to leave out that the water needs to be ICE water for a flaky crust. Experienced bakers will know this, but novice bakers might not and that will affect the outcome of the crust. Yes, this recipe does yield an odd amount of crust, but just take the leftovers, roll out to about 1/4 to 1/8 inch thickness and brush with melted butter. Take a pizza cutter or sharp knife and cut dough into triangles. Place on cookie sheet lined with parchment or aluminum foil. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Bake in a 350 (or 375) degree oven for about 10 - 15 minutes or until golden and baked through. Let cool slightly and enjoy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
3 stars for incomplete directions. Iced water is a must! And knowing the size of the egg used, would be helpful. I think the problem some are having, with sticky dough, may be in the way the flour is measured. If you use the scoop and level method, you'll have more flour than you would if you spoon and level. Not knowing the method used by the recipe submitter, poses a problem. Also you can't assume that if you used 1/2 cup water one day, that you'll need 1/2 cup the next time you make the same recipe. Your dough will need more/less liquid, depending on the dryness/humidity of the day. ALWAYS add liquid AS NEEDED to obtain desired the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'm truly awful at making pie crusts but now that I've tried this recipe I feel redeemed, pie crusts are no longer my enemy. I used this along with Grandma Opels Apple Pie recipe from this site. My boyfriend was disappointed that I didn't make a graham cracker crust but after tasting it he's a convert. The only modification I made was to use butter flavored shortening. The texture of the crust was buttery and flaky with a hint of sweetness. As others have mentioned you'll end up with an odd amount of leftover dough but I didn't find this to be an issue, more for me to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamBam
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is now my go-to pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States