Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
LOVE this crust. I use butter flavored shortening to make it extra evil. I'm a Navy wife, and this is my go-to recipe for scoring points with large numbers of Sailors at holiday parties and cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
it was difficult to work with. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I was skeptical... my pie crusts tend to be fine, but not amazing. This one delivered and was flat out the best crust I have ever made. The next time I make it I will cut the salt down. I also took another reviewer's advice and started with a quarter cup of water. I only needed about a teaspoon more than that for the perfect amount of liquid. Had I started with the full half cup, the dough would have been too sticky. I also froze the shortening before using it. That seemed to make it really easy to cut into the flour. I also think I could have gotten four crusts out of it (not deep dish), but I stuck with three for this round. Next time I will try four. Thanks for sharing Grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this last night for a peach pie for a Labor Day cookout at a dear friend's house. I made the filling recipe from Smitten Kitchen. It was a beautiful pie! My husband, who really cares how food looks, said so! Everyone had wonderful things to say about it. This crust took a little more time than my usual pie crust recipe but it was worth the compliments! I will definitely do this again. I love to take something to a potluck or cookout that stands out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Only thing I do different when making this recipe it I forget about the bowl only because I learned that when making pie crust, using bowls is just dirty a useless item (less dishes to wash) I also increase the sugar slightly only because I like my pie crust to be on the sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I could have made 4 pie crusts with the dough depending on the size of the pie plate I used. Not all pie plates are the same size. I used lard, the sound of it doesn't gross me out, it made it delicious. Thank you for the recipe and for the video with instructions. You couldn't have made it any easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Made it EXACTLY as suggested-made LOTS of it! PERFECT crust.. able to roll thin enough to make quiche and butter tarts.. THANK YOU! As good as my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Perfect. Cut in half to make a 2 layer pie! Make sure everything is really ice cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
5 stars for sure! I cut the recipe in half since I only needed 2 crusts (kind of strange to only use half an egg, but that's what I did) and used 6 tablespoons butter-flavored shortening and 1 stick of butter. My husband thinks this crust is better than his grandmother's, and she's famous for her crusts. Uh-oh...this might make for a very interesting Thanksgiving this year....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States