Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is by far the best crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The dough was easy to work with. Made a beautiful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever used!! My husband, who is a chef, LOVES this crust and even admitted it is probably better than the recipe he has used for years!! I used one of the techniques mentioned in the comments suggesting to roll out the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and this worked wonderfully. To get the dough into the pan/on top of your pie I rolled out the dough, removed the top piece of plastic wrap and picked up the bottom piece to transfer the crust to the pan instead of trying to roll up the crust and move it - this worked great. Also I brushed the top of the crust with a little egg wash before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Best Ever! I won't even look for another recipe to try. This is the pie crust recipe that I will always use. Easy to work with and bakes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Amazing! Don't change a thing! Perfect for any pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I was never taught how to make a crust and I have to thank you for this recipe! it turned out so perfect made no changes so easy to work with thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was my first pie crust, too. I'm currently expecting and was really hankering for some pear and apple pie but I'd used my last store-bought crust on quiche last week. So I gave this a go. Unfortunately, the shortening I thought I had wasn't in the cupboard so I used 1 1/4 c of butter instead as another reviewer was short on shortening(lol) and used butter to make up the difference. I have to say that so far, so good! It does only seem to make 3 crusts, rather than the 4 mentioned in the recipe but I love crumble toppings so no worries there. Pie is baking now so I can't vouch for the taste yet, but I had no trouble with the texture (too wet, too dry) when rolling out. I even made a lattice/woven top for my pie since rolling the bottom was so easy. It looks amazing I can only imagine it'll taste great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used this recipe in making Blueberry Pie I, and it was delicious. I mixed the egg with only 1/4 cup water (suggested by another reviewer) and it made the dough plenty moist. I used some leftover for a beef pot pie. The flakiness was great but it was probably a bit sweet for a meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
As tasty and easy as all the positive reviews say. Its very crumbly and I find I have to refrigerate it before I can even roll it out to use it but that makes it all the tastier. As always with pie crusts I roll them out between two sheets of wax paper, makes it so much easier....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Amazing and fast!!!! I had enough for FOUR crusts!!!! You are a lifesaver!! I made it and used it right away!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States