Ruthie Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good and easy, but definitely a custard type cheese cake. I like that it doesn't need a crust. Next time I will take it out of the oven after baking, instead of leaving it in the oven for an additional hour to cool. I think it got too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Couldn't be easier. I used only 1/2 cup of (skim) milk and "1/3 less fat" cream cheese. Did not sprinkle with cinnamon. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a great recipie. Does not need improvement!! I used a springform pan and it looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this on a whim for my 6 yr old that could not live another minute without cheese cake. I whipped it together in no time flat and unlike some of the other reviews, it did resemble custard cheese cake and I LOVED IT!!!! So did the entire family. What a great recipe. I will be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A friend of my mother's gave her this recipe over 30 years ago and it always turns out great. Only difference is Mrs. G's recipe uses 3 Tbs of cornstarch and the oven temp is 325 F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Alright, I am an experienced cook, and this is a recipe for a custard, I actually made it as the custard and I adjusted it to make a lovely cheese cake. The custard was divine - I baked it in bowls and garnished it with cinnamon. It made a lovely treat for a lazy evening, as it was quite easy. The cheesecake, I did the following adjustments: 1. I doubled the recipe - 4 bars of cream cheese. 2. I reduced the milk to 3/4 cup 3. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (I also used cane sugar) 4. I upped the vanilla by 1 teaspoon 5. I reduced the eggs to 2 6. I reduced the corn starch to 3 tablespoons 7. I added a little orange zest and about two tablespoons of fresh orange juice (after I whipped everything together, while still mixing, but before the eggs). I made a standard graham cracker crust, baked it in a spring form pan, and it was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
i tried the recipe and was at first alarmed to see that the mixture is too runny, but the texture turned out okay. it's a bit sweet, so i reduced to less than a cup of sugar, and less than a cup of milk, and also i added another tablespoon of cornstarch.i also used some lemon juice instead of vanilla.on the whole, it's nice and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nora muhammad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia
Living In: Ampang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipe deserves four stars for being so easy and also tasty. For a less custardy texture, maybe use only 2 eggs and beat for only 2 minutes. Also, you want to cover the cheese cake to keep it from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States