Rutabaga Oven Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved these!! I used garlic salt, smoked paprika, and ground red pepper in place of the other seasonings listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I love rutabage fries. I coat mine with smoked paprika and sprinkle with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. I don't like rosemary, so I don't use that, but garlic powder is tasty, too. I don't use fresh garlic, because I think these need to cook at a higher temp and for longer than 30 minutes, and the garlic would burn. I would suggest at least 425 for really nicely browned pieces. Mine never get super crispy, but I don't care...I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I admit, I was skeptical, but these were great. I used smoked paprika and cumin instead of rosemary, but honestly - - this would work with just about any spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, and it is so tasty! Love the rosemary. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
These were great and my 7 year old liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are so good! Taste like a cross between a potato, sweet potato, and a carrot. We used kosher salt, pepper, and garlic powder. When they were done we sprinkled paprika. I would suggest flipping them a few times since ours burnt a little on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We loved these fries! used herbed de Provence and salt. We baked it for longer than 30 min, and it was well caramelized, but not yet crispy. Would love tips on how to crips it up. Very flavorful recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We all loved it. That is until someone said "rutabaga."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Surprisingly good! However, it requires w-a-y more time in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These were really really tasty and smelled wonderful cooking. I found the cooking time to be off though. At 30 mins my fries were still undercooked and not browned at all. I think maybe a slightly hotter oven might work better. I had a hot spot in my oven so some of them got a little too dark, but those were yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States