Rutabaga Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved this, added s&p to taste and it was perfect. I took lindas advice and peeled the rutabaga, then steamed it (whole) in my pampered chef microwave steamer for 10 minutes, cut it up, then steamed it again along with the cut carrots until tender...thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
perhaps it's just because I'm a southerner, but I found this recipe a little on the bland side. I ended up sauteing the carrots (cut into matchsticks) and some onion in olive oil with fresh garlic, and I added ample pepper, salt, and a splash of balsamic vinaigrette to give it a little "oomph." Still needs a little something else, though. It was fun to try rutabagas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I liked the first bite or 2 but it was quickly old after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Put your rutabaga in the microwave like a potato, let it cool and it will peel and chop with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was such a wonderful casserole! This was a dish a served as my first time hosting a dinner at our home (which is stressful enough). This dish was devoured and everything came together just as the directions said! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Don't be tempted to add more carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Using 1 large rutabaga, peel, cut into chunks and boil in water in large pan for 20 minutes, cool. Using 2 large apples, peel, chop and cook in small pot with 2 TBSP sugar. Place rutabaga and apples in casserole dish, sprinkle 4 TBSP honey over top and dot with butter. Bake uncovered in 350 oven for about 35 minutes. A good way to use up leftover rutabaga, mash with cooked apples, butter and honey, warm and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I'm always curious to try new veggies. Last night was the first time either my boyfriend or I had ever eaten a rutabaga... and we loved it! Thank you for a yummy and easy recipe, great for first-timers. Yes, rutabagas are not easy to chop up... but use a quality knife and put a little muscle in it! It's worth it! Preparing and cooking the rutabagas was very similar to making mashed potatoes: the boiling times are about the same, and mashing them is about the same. Thank You for making me a rutabaga lover. This will now be incorporated into regular meal plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Yes, rutabaga is often so hard you want to use a hatchet. But thats what made it a good veggie for the winter. This recipe is a basic recipe and does the veggie justice. The carrots tone down the unique taste of the root, and with just butter, a bit of salt and pepper........ good for you. If one is used to sugared and seasoned foods, this recipe is not for you, unless you add to it. Why not enjoy the rutabaga for itself?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
The rutabagas were REALLY hard to cut! I had to have my husband muscle them. Then they took quite a while to cook. The finished product tasted pretty good, but I don't think I'll make it again because it was so difficult. My 18-month-old son didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States