Rutabaga Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
simple and quick, Served it in 1/2 a steamed green pepper...make it a meal, vs side dish. I'm not much of a sugar guy so I cut that back, could have left it totally out too. I'll make this or something similar again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Was a big success at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very good! I'll definitely make it again. I like the health component, too. I used honey instead of sugar, and I added a half teaspoon of salt. I found I did need to add the milk. I like the idea of a previous poster to serve it with pork. I think it would be good with roast chicken also. I wouldn't serve it with beef, a little too heavy for a heavy meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is my first experience cooking and eating rutabaga. I hate it when people say a recipe is bland, but this one truly is. It seemed to need something...maybe salt? Neither my husband nor I cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This has an excellent taste and consistancy! My husband loved it. I served it with baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnybuns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altha, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I made this into a main dish by sauteeing a large red onion and 8 ounces of mushrooms. I also cut the recipe in half and used 2 rutabagas and 3 carrots. I cooked the diced rutabagas and 2 of the chopped carrots in boiling water for 20 minutes. After draining, I folded in the onion and mushroom mixture with the remaining uncooked carrot (which I grated). I added 2 tablespoons of margarine and about 2 tablespoons of soy milk. The entire mixture was placed in a casserole and baked (covered) in an oven at 350F for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
It was good but needs getting used to. Your brain tells you mashed potatotes. I will make this again. Maybe play up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I always add diced apple with a little sugar to rutabaga before mashing. It adds a great flavor even for those who dislike "beggies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I had never had rutabagas and neither had my husband. This dish was really good and sweet we really enjoyed it we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Just awful! really truly not palatable, lacked flavor, poor consistency, raw carrot taste. If you have the rutabagas already and you've had this kind of thing before and liked, that's the only way I could see anyone eating this stuff. I can't get the taste out of my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States