Rutabaga Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Surprisingly good! I sent my husband to the store for rhubarb and he came back with rutabaga. We had never tasted it before so decided to try this recipe. I'm glad we did. Don't have a potato masher so used a portable mixer and added enough milk so that it was the consistency of mashed potatoes. The uncooked shredded carrots adds a nice texture and taste. Will buy rutabaga and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe...a real plus to any dinner. One tip, some readers said that they found it to be watery...I mashed the ingredients in a stand mixer and placed everything in a casserole. I covered the casserole and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This was the first time that I had ever tried rutabaga and am so glad I had your recipe to try it in. Was a very nice compliment to my pork roast (thanks to my mothers suggestion.) Will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I had never had rutabagas and neither had my husband. This dish was really good and sweet we really enjoyed it we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was good, and I'll make it again. I did use brown sugar instead of white, just because it felt right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Just awful! really truly not palatable, lacked flavor, poor consistency, raw carrot taste. If you have the rutabagas already and you've had this kind of thing before and liked, that's the only way I could see anyone eating this stuff. I can't get the taste out of my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I found this recipe to be OK. My friend and I thought it was edible, but pretty bland. I think if we had some meat along with it, it might have been a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother-in-law used to make this every Thanksgiving and for us it's just not Thanksgiving without it! We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
It was okay - kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I made this into a main dish by sauteeing a large red onion and 8 ounces of mushrooms. I also cut the recipe in half and used 2 rutabagas and 3 carrots. I cooked the diced rutabagas and 2 of the chopped carrots in boiling water for 20 minutes. After draining, I folded in the onion and mushroom mixture with the remaining uncooked carrot (which I grated). I added 2 tablespoons of margarine and about 2 tablespoons of soy milk. The entire mixture was placed in a casserole and baked (covered) in an oven at 350F for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States