Rutabaga Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I found this recipe to be OK. My friend and I thought it was edible, but pretty bland. I think if we had some meat along with it, it might have been a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
It was okay - kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I give this one star for effort. My husband and I agreed that this is the worst recipe I've tried. I think the rutabaga would have been better plain than fixed like this. My husband never tried rutabaga before and I doubt that he will want to try it again for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was good, and I'll make it again. I did use brown sugar instead of white, just because it felt right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a terrific side dish for everything from chicken to pork roast. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe...a real plus to any dinner. One tip, some readers said that they found it to be watery...I mashed the ingredients in a stand mixer and placed everything in a casserole. I covered the casserole and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother-in-law used to make this every Thanksgiving and for us it's just not Thanksgiving without it! We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This was the first time that I had ever tried rutabaga and am so glad I had your recipe to try it in. Was a very nice compliment to my pork roast (thanks to my mothers suggestion.) Will make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Surprisingly good! I sent my husband to the store for rhubarb and he came back with rutabaga. We had never tasted it before so decided to try this recipe. I'm glad we did. Don't have a potato masher so used a portable mixer and added enough milk so that it was the consistency of mashed potatoes. The uncooked shredded carrots adds a nice texture and taste. Will buy rutabaga and make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States