Rusty Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I decided to try this recipe, mainly because I had all the ingredients on hand. We LOVED it. I followed the recipe as written, and used the quick marinade method (on the countertop in a ziploc bag for an hour). Served with fresh green beans and roasted butternut squash. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Perry
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I used some green curry paste instead of the chili sauce, and I didn't have a lime. Instead of doing the thighs on the grill, I baked them at 350 F for about 50 min., until the internal temperature was 165 F. I like all the ingredients, but thought the mayo was a bit odd. The overall taste was good, though I'll probably look for a different recipe the next time I do thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! This was the best grilled chicken I've ever made. It turned out so moist and juicy and the color was awesome. I didn't have the chile pepper sauce so I substituted some smoky chipotle hot sauce and as a compliment I added about a teaspoon of smoked paprika to the marinade. I also didn't have the maple syrup so I used honey. I always seem to dry my chicken out on the grill so I used my bone-in chicken thighs and kept the skin on. I grilled over indirect heat and it took longer than the time specified in the recipe - took 45 minutes but my thighs were large. The final result was worth it! So yummy that this will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very tasty. I want to play with the ingredients a bit, however I can see this being on the table several times a year. I did reduce the hot Thai sauce considerably in deference to our spice sensitivities and think a single tsp will be about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! So easy and it's delicious without the hours of marinating. I'll toss this into my chicken and let it sit for 30 minutes then throw it on the BBQ, comes out great every time! A highly forgiving recipe that's great on all types of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Eh. There wasn't anything wrong with this, it just wasn't noteworthy. I don't think it was worth buying a new bottle of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was tasty. I eliminated the sambal because I was cooking for young ones; I am sure it adds a nice kick. I would make it again; it was easy and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Followed recipe exactly, except for the garlic and lime (didn't have any). Marinated for 4 hours and grilled. Wonderful! Made it again, this time marinated for 5 hours. So delicious! It has a mild tang/spice flavor, but no where near "spicey". It's so tender and juicy. 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I use this recipe all the time. I usually put the marinade in a zip lock bag with the chicken, then throw it in the freezer. That way the meat thaws and marinates at the same time! Thanks Chef John, I love your food and your style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I'm not a thigh lover, but my son is. Rave reviews and came back the next day to reheat the leftovers. (From a kid that doesn't like leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States