Rusty Chicken Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nycvicky66
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was easy to prepare, common household ingredients for us except for the lime, which I did pick up, and the flavor was way beyond our expectations! I did make one sub in the marinade since I didn't have any sambal, I used sweet chili Thai sauce instead and added a few dashed of hot sauce to replace the heat. used skin on/bone in chicken (2 breasts, 5 thighs so I prepared a double recipe of the marinade) and it came off the grill looking like a picture and so fragrant! The garlic, soy and chili lend such awesome flavor but they can be over powering on their own. The maple syrup & mayo round out these flavors nicely and the rice wine vinegar I think just brings everything together. I do agree with some that the marinade smelled a bit weird but the chicken was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycvicky66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The flavor of this chicken is amazing. I doubled the marinade because that is something I would do. I'm not sure that I needed to but it was so perfect the way I made it that I will probably always do it. It isn't spicy and it isn't sweet. It doesn't taste like soy sauce or mayo. it is just a unique flavor of everything combined. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Another winner, Chef John. Interesting play on the old standard Asian marinade. Bold flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Always look for Chef John's recipes. I couldn't find the Asian chile pepper sauce so I bought the hot & sour. It was good tho not as hot as I thought it would be. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I was optimistic about the marinade because it smelled good. I wasn't able to marinade the the chicken due to time constraints. I wasn't impressed with the overall taste of the dish when complete. Perhaps it was due to my pure maple syrup has a cinnamon stick resting in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Not enough flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made this in a 400 degree oven for hubby for Valentine's Day and he loved it. Moist and incredibly flavorful. The only change I made was I used my homemade Thai chili paste (chilis, garlic, vinegar, salt, sugar) instead of the garlic and Asain chili sauce. He can't wait to try it on the grill once the snow melts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I decided to try this recipe, mainly because I had all the ingredients on hand. We LOVED it. I followed the recipe as written, and used the quick marinade method (on the countertop in a ziploc bag for an hour). Served with fresh green beans and roasted butternut squash. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Perry
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I used some green curry paste instead of the chili sauce, and I didn't have a lime. Instead of doing the thighs on the grill, I baked them at 350 F for about 50 min., until the internal temperature was 165 F. I like all the ingredients, but thought the mayo was a bit odd. The overall taste was good, though I'll probably look for a different recipe the next time I do thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! This was the best grilled chicken I've ever made. It turned out so moist and juicy and the color was awesome. I didn't have the chile pepper sauce so I substituted some smoky chipotle hot sauce and as a compliment I added about a teaspoon of smoked paprika to the marinade. I also didn't have the maple syrup so I used honey. I always seem to dry my chicken out on the grill so I used my bone-in chicken thighs and kept the skin on. I grilled over indirect heat and it took longer than the time specified in the recipe - took 45 minutes but my thighs were large. The final result was worth it! So yummy that this will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States