Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
great easy recipe! I added about a cup of grated potato w/ the onion, to thicken it; used canned seasoned chopped tomatoes, and black beans & red kidney beans, b/c that's what I had. I didn't have croutons or cheese, but it's great without, although I will eat the leftovers w/ crusty bread like another review suggested! I also added a splash of cider vinegar, which gave it the brightness it was missing. this is going into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
MAKE IT! You won't regret it! This a wonderfully rich and hearty soup that I would be proud to serve to guests. I made it exactly as the recipe was written and will continue to make this as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This soup was so simple to make and the flavors when all put together with croutons and parmesan cheese are incredible! I baked my bacon in the oven (because there's just no simpler way to cook bacon) and cheated with store bought croutons, otherwise made no other changes to this great recipe. It will now be a go to soup for me this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Larned, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The only change I made was to add the kale after the onions had sauted a few minutes and cooked it for the full time so it was well cooked and soft. Delicious flavor, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Really enjoyed this one. I used turkey bacon and fresh tomatoes to up the healthy ante. Prep time was minimal. Making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was very tasty.. i left out the bread part but accidentally added the 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper to the pot.. i threw everything in the crock pot and let this cook all day while i was at work.. cut the recipe in half and used what i had in the house (as always).. maybe 1/8th of an onion and 2 green onions (i'm still laughing about having to use what was left in the crisper).. a can of black beans.. italian seasoned diced tomatoes.. chicken bouillon and almost triple the amount of kale.. didn't have any bacon so subbed cooked italian seasoned ground turkey.. ty for the direction i needed to pull this off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Good basic recipe but I changed it up by baking my bacon in the oven (350 in the oven on a cookie sheet for approximately 20 min depending on how thin or thick your bacon is - less time for thinner of course). After bacon is cooked, remove from pan and chop it up into pieces. Pour the bacon grease in the sheet into the pot and saute with diced onions and a few cloves of diced garlic. I then added 1/4 cup of flour to make a roux and then added the other ingredients so it'd be a thicker soup. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Incredibly good for so few ingredients. Of course, I tweaked it to suit ingredients I had on hand and our family's needs (dairy-free), but the recipe is forgiving and yummy nonetheless. The bread is very good sprinkled with Italian seasoning instead of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Collier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Outstanding - just like Olive Garden's version. Made this for a gathering and everyone loved it - even those intimidated by the kale. I pulsed the cooked sausage in processor to make it very fine before adding to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Yummy! I made this soup using a ham bone to make broth instead of using chicken broth. Then I used ham instead of bacon and for the diced tomatoes I used one can with the diced green chilis. I also ommitted the cheese and bread to keep it a little healthier. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States