Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Good basic recipe but I changed it up by baking my bacon in the oven (350 in the oven on a cookie sheet for approximately 20 min depending on how thin or thick your bacon is - less time for thinner of course). After bacon is cooked, remove from pan and chop it up into pieces. Pour the bacon grease in the sheet into the pot and saute with diced onions and a few cloves of diced garlic. I then added 1/4 cup of flour to make a roux and then added the other ingredients so it'd be a thicker soup. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Pretty much the same recipe that's on the back of Bushes cannellini beans. Slight variation but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Incredibly good for so few ingredients. Of course, I tweaked it to suit ingredients I had on hand and our family's needs (dairy-free), but the recipe is forgiving and yummy nonetheless. The bread is very good sprinkled with Italian seasoning instead of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Outstanding - just like Olive Garden's version. Made this for a gathering and everyone loved it - even those intimidated by the kale. I pulsed the cooked sausage in processor to make it very fine before adding to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Yummy! I made this soup using a ham bone to make broth instead of using chicken broth. Then I used ham instead of bacon and for the diced tomatoes I used one can with the diced green chilis. I also ommitted the cheese and bread to keep it a little healthier. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
so easy to make and wonderfully flavored! I wasn't so sure because I don't eat this kind of food. But this is a keeper and definitely one for potlucks. Thank you for making this busy mom of four look and feel amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The soup was very good, and a great way to eat the kale that I got from the CSA. I made some changes because I did not have some of the ingredients at home and the soup still turned out well, although it would have been probably better if I had had bacon and parmesan. Basically, my version did not use bacon, and instead of parmesan cheese, it used cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Loved this recipe...didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
No bread in the house so I put half the parm and 1/2t of red pepper flakes in the soup during the bean and tomato step. Delicious! Soup is very thick and hearty. Taste is perfect. Guild the lily and sprinkle parm and bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
EXCELLENT hearty dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States