Rustic Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I too found this to be a good basic recipe that improves with just a little doctoring. I took tips from other users and floured the meat before browning it, and also added extra corn starch. I don't think it has too much wine, but I do think it should cook longer than 4-6 hours for maximum flavor. Be sure to use a good meat, too! Also, I couldn't find consomme, so to get that intense flavor I added an extra can of beef stock (using a bit less water) and then threw in a boullion cube. Next time I will use more carrots and more potatoes, and add a little Worchesthire sauce, which I didn't have on hand, though I did use some balsamic vinegar. On the whole, though, this is a good, classic stew and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This stew is so very good and flavorful that it has quickly become my only stew recipe and a new winter staple in our home. I had to add about 5Tbl cornstarch to achieve the gravy like consistancy that we prefer, but other that that one small change I make this recipe exactly as called for. It is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki Hom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Nope - what a waste of 3 lbs of beef. Tasted too much of the wine and I only put in 1 cup (all I had). There wasn't much taste - not sure what I did wrong but I'll stick to my own version of beef stew that uses already cooked and cubed roast beef. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I guess it was my error - should have read all the reviews first. I made this for my family and some friends who were visiting and we ended up ordering pizza - way too much wine, and aside from that, very little taste at all. My overall impression was that it was pretty bad and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is basically a Beef Burgundy Recipe more than a basic stew recipe. I could tell just by looking at the recipe that it needed some help. As with other reviewers I have made some changes. I also floured my beef before I browned it. Then I also added some extra ingredients 4 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp of dried rosemary, 2 bouillon cubes, a bay leaf, and 1 can of tomato paste. I also cooked this on low for 8 hours as suggested by other reviewers and added more cornstarch for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Well this is a good base. I changed the herbs up a bit. I used 1/2 tsp thyme and 1/2 tsp rosemary. The rosemary went well with the wine. I added a more veggies(mushrooms and green beans). It tasted good day one but as with all stews and soups and such you need one good day for the flavors to meld together. I froze over half the recipe and gave some to my brother he loved it. Reheats nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
All the Burgandy at my store was in big ol' jugs, so I substituted Cabernet Sauvignon. I cooked the stew in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours, but thought it could have stood another hour or two to further tenderize the meat. After it was done cooking last night, I didn't think that the flavors married that well and all I could taste was wine and thyme. But a night in the frig mingled the flavors and evened out the thyme and wine flavors. Heated the whole thing up on the stove when I got home and added in the corn starch...yep, it needed more than what the recipe calls for. Always nice to have dinner ready (or almost so) right after work! One last comment...We ate half of the stew (froze the rest), and it fed 3 of us, which included 2 adults and a 3 year old. So I think that the serving size is off, or at least for how much this family eats. Anyway, thanks for the nice recipe; it'll probably be a winter staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband who does not like stew loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband isn't easy to please and he absolutely LOVED this... even wanted me to make it again the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I made this on a very busy day. It went together quickly and the results were far beyond what I expected. I did toss the beef in flour with the salt and pepper and then browned it before putting in the crock pot. The sauce/gravy was delicious but not very thick so I considered this more a soupy type stew. Served with hot bread it was just a terrific meal. I took some to friends and they have called asking for the recipe. That says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States