Rustic Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Followed the reviewers tips, bay leaf, bullion cubes etc., really wonderful stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I read all of the reviews and made changes to the recipe. It turned out so good. I skipped the wine and mustard seed, but I didn't miss it. My family said it was delicious. Outside those changes, I follow the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is basically a Beef Burgundy Recipe more than a basic stew recipe. I could tell just by looking at the recipe that it needed some help. As with other reviewers I have made some changes. I also floured my beef before I browned it. Then I also added some extra ingredients 4 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tsp of dried rosemary, 2 bouillon cubes, a bay leaf, and 1 can of tomato paste. I also cooked this on low for 8 hours as suggested by other reviewers and added more cornstarch for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
My husband who does not like stew loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband isn't easy to please and he absolutely LOVED this... even wanted me to make it again the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Nope - what a waste of 3 lbs of beef. Tasted too much of the wine and I only put in 1 cup (all I had). There wasn't much taste - not sure what I did wrong but I'll stick to my own version of beef stew that uses already cooked and cubed roast beef. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I too found this to be a good basic recipe that improves with just a little doctoring. I took tips from other users and floured the meat before browning it, and also added extra corn starch. I don't think it has too much wine, but I do think it should cook longer than 4-6 hours for maximum flavor. Be sure to use a good meat, too! Also, I couldn't find consomme, so to get that intense flavor I added an extra can of beef stock (using a bit less water) and then threw in a boullion cube. Next time I will use more carrots and more potatoes, and add a little Worchesthire sauce, which I didn't have on hand, though I did use some balsamic vinegar. On the whole, though, this is a good, classic stew and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I guess it was my error - should have read all the reviews first. I made this for my family and some friends who were visiting and we ended up ordering pizza - way too much wine, and aside from that, very little taste at all. My overall impression was that it was pretty bad and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Well this is a good base. I changed the herbs up a bit. I used 1/2 tsp thyme and 1/2 tsp rosemary. The rosemary went well with the wine. I added a more veggies(mushrooms and green beans). It tasted good day one but as with all stews and soups and such you need one good day for the flavors to meld together. I froze over half the recipe and gave some to my brother he loved it. Reheats nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This stew is so very good and flavorful that it has quickly become my only stew recipe and a new winter staple in our home. I had to add about 5Tbl cornstarch to achieve the gravy like consistancy that we prefer, but other that that one small change I make this recipe exactly as called for. It is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki Hom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States